Oxford LibGuides: Keeping Up-to-Date: Alerts, Podcasts, Blogs & Updates

Current awareness and updates

CKS What's new
New additions and updates to the Clinical Knowledge Summaries database
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Latest list of reviews added to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
EvidenceAlerts
EvidenceAlerts incorporates an email alerting system and a searchable database of best evidence from the medical literature. Look up topics covered in the database published as far back as 2002. Register your interests to receive email alerts and searching access for literature that is matched to your personal clinical interests. For clinicians.
Health Management And Policy Alert
The King's Fund health management and policy alert sets out to alert users of content such as report, national consultations, guidelines and statistics
NICE news
A monthly newsletter, keeping you up-to-date with important developments at NICE. Subscribe for information on the latest published and forthcoming guidance topics; implementation advice; consultations, meetings and events; and the latest news, features and stories.

Blogs

Evidence based nursing blog
Analysis and discussion of developments in Evidence-Based Nursing.
Evidently Cochrane
Aims to make Cochrane evidence really accessible and to encourage discussion about it through blogs
The Health Foundation Blog
The Health Foundation is an independent charity committed to bringing about better health and health care for people in the UK.
Independent Nurse blog
Find out what key opinion leaders, nurses and politicians think of the latest changes in the health service and how it impacts primary care nurses.
Medical Research Council - MRC Insight
Stories about the people, science and research of the Medical Research Council.
St.Emlyn's Emergency Medicine #FOAMed
more...less...
St Emlyns is a UK based blog and podcast for Emergency and Critical Care clinicians.

Podcasts

BMJ talk medicine
Podcasts on many topics including Lupus, Cardiology, Clinical Best Practice, Emergency Medicine, Clinical Evidence, Gastroenterology, Gut podcast, Neurology, Orthopaedics, Oncology, Paediatrics, Paediatrics, Pharmacology, Drugs and Theraputics, Rheumatic and Musculoskeletal Diseases, and Sexual Health
Brain Science Podcast
The Brain Science Podcast features the latest books about neuroscience as well as interviews with leading scientists from around the world.
Clinical Edge
Inspiring interviews with leading Physiotherapists, discussing real life assessment and treatment, clinical issues and ways to give you an edge in your Physiotherapy clinical practice.
Cochrane podcasts
Cochrane podcasts deliver the latest up-to-date evidence from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews in a convenient, easy-to-access audio format so you can listen to relevant, accessible research from the world's leading producers of health evidence wherever you are.
Core IM | Internal Medicine Podcast
This is a community of educators and students interested in fostering the flame of curiosity and inspiration, reminding people of how fascinating clinical medicine can be, spurring clinical inquiry, answering difficult questions, synthesizing the vast body of literature, and addressing common clinical conundrums.
DDx
DDx is medical shorthand for differential diagnosis, and this is a podcast about how doctors think and learn on the job.
Emergency Medical Cases
Emergency Medicine Cases (EM Cases) is a free online medical education podcast, medical blog and website dedicated to providing online emergency medicine education and CME for physicians, residents, students nurses and paramedics. Canadian
Life in the Fast Lane
Podcasts on emergency medicine and critical care
Propofology
www.propofology.com is a UK based, international project created out of the desire to advance the role of the FOAMed
(Free Open Access to Medical Education) to everyone involved in anaesthesia, critical care and pain medicine.
The Resus Room
The Resus Room is a Free Open Access Medical Education site, FOAMed. The content centres around care of patients in and around The Resus Room,
The St Emlyn's Blog and Podcast
A UK based Emergency Medicine podcast for anyone who works in emergency care.

Alerts for new articles

Setting up an alert for a topic on interest is useful to keep up to date with the latest evidence. Most databases have this feature. One of the most popular ones is Pubmed - click here for full instructions