Skip to main content

Alexander Library of Ornithology Guide: Finding Oxford Archives

Alexander Library Archive Individual Handlists

Search the Alexander Library Archive Collection

The Alexander Library holds an extensive collection of 19th and 20th Century ornithological notebooks, diaries, photographs and letters.

If you would like to consult items within the archive please contact the Alexander Librarian to make an appointment.

Archives hub

Use the Archives hub to find unique sources for your research. The Archives Hub enables you to search across a wealth of archives held at over 220 institutions across the UK.


Click here to see the Alexander Library's Archives hub link.

Search the Scientific Archives held at the Radcliffe Science Library

These archives are held at the Radcliffe Science Library. To consult them please contact the Biology Subject Librarian.

Zoology Archive

Research notes and other materials by Oxford zoologists from the late 19th to early 20th century plus photograph albums from the Challenger Expedition 1872-1876.

Elton Archive

Ecology research material produced by the Bureau of Animal Populations.

Need Help?

For ornithology subject enquiries please contact Sophie Wilcox:

sophie.wilcox@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

For other subject enquiries please check our Subjects page.

General information about Oxford University science libraries is available here.

Search the Bodleian Library Scientific Manuscript Collections

Go to the Special Collections Department LibGuide for information on finding special collections material at the Bodleian Library.

Click here for information on the scientific manuscript collections at the Bodleian, covering natural history and including the papers of contemporary scientists.