Oxford LibGuides: Manuscripts: Asian and Middle Eastern: South and Inner Asia

Contact the curators

Manuscripts, South and South East Asia: Gillian Evison
Phone: +44 (0)1865 277033
Rare Books, South Asia: Emma Mathieson
Phone: +44 (0)1865 277081
Inner Asia: Charles Manson
Phone: +44 (0)1865 277083

Subject guide

A South & Inner Asia collections guide
A short online subject guide to the Bodleian's collections of South & Inner Asian manuscripts and rare books.

Indic (see also Sanskrit, below)

Links here are to digitized resources or to the SOLO library record for the printed book/journal (which gives further details and location information).

Catalogue of the Persian, Turkish, Hindustani, and Pushto manuscripts in the Bodleian Library, part 2.
by Hermann Ethé (Oxford, 1930). (Lists 43 Urdu, 4 Pushto manuscripts and 12 Indic picture collections). [DIGITIZED COPY available via MENADOC]
‘Kalighat paintings in Oxford'
by H. Stooke (1946) in Indian art and letters. New Series, 20, (p.71-73)
‘Sinhala palm-leaf manuscripts in the Bodleian Library Oxford'
by J. Liyanaratne, in Bodleian Library Record, XIII (1991) pp. 514-518. A handlist of 48 previously unidentified Sinhala manuscripts in the Bodleian's collection.
‘Sri Lankan Medical manuscripts in the Bodleian Library, Oxford’
by J. Liyanaratne in Journal of the European Ayruvedic Society, vol. 2 (1992) pp. 36-53. (Lists and describes the Bodleian's collection of 36 palm-leaf manuscripts in Sinhala script.
Manuscripts in the Telegu or Tenugu language which is the vernacular of Masulipatam and the Northern Circats in India
(manuscript; [Oxford], n.d.) Z. Cat. 11
Indian paintings from Oxford collections
by Andrew Topsfield (Oxford, 1994). (Lists 84 manuscripts).
Mughal Indian Paintings
Albums of Mughal Indian paintings in the Bodleian Library.

Pali

All links here are to the SOLO library record for the book/journal, which gives further details and location information.

‘Classified list of the Pali manuscripts in the Bodleian Library’
by O. Frankfurter (manuscript, 1880). Available in the Charles Wendell David Reading Room.
Survey of the Pali manuscript collection in the Bodleian Library
by Jacqueline Filliozat, (Oxford, 1994).
A Survey of the Pali manuscript collection in the Bodleian Library Oxford’
by Jacqueline Filliozat in Journal of the Pali Text Society, vol. 24 (1998) pp.1-80. (Lists 161 manuscripts).

Pashto

Links here are to digitized copies or to the SOLO library record for the printed book/journal, which gives further details and location information.

Catalogue of the Persian, Turkish, Hindustani, and Pushto manuscripts in the Bodleian Library, part 2.
by Hermann Ethé (Oxford, 1930). (Lists 43 Urdu, 4 Pushto manuscripts and 12 Indic picture collections). [DIGITIZED COPY available via MENADOC]
Catalogue of Pashto manuscripts in the Libraries of the British Isles
by J. F. Blumhardt and D, N. MacKenzie (London, 1965).
Fihrist Union Catalogue of Manuscripts in Arabic Script
Contains online catalogue records for Pashto MSS based on the 1965 Blumhardt and MacKenzie printed catalogue.

Prakrit

Links here are to digitized copies or to the Bodleian's SOLO library record for the printed book/journal, give further details and location information for the catalogue.

Catalogue of the Sanskrit and Prakrit Manuscripts in the Indian Institute Library
by A.B. Keith, 1903 [DIGITIZED COPY available via the Internet Archive.]
Catalogue of the Sanskrit and Prakrit Manuscripts in the Indian Institute Library Oxford
by A.B. Keith (Oxford, 1903). (Lists 162 manuscripts).
A catalogue of Prakrit MSS. in the Bodleian Library
by A.B. Keith (Oxford, 1911). [DIGITZED COPY available via the Internet Archive.]
A catalogue of Prakrit MSS. in the Bodleian Library
by A.B. Keith (Oxford, 1911). (Lists 84 manuscripts).

Sanskrit (see also Indic, above)

Links here are to digitized catalogues or to the SOLO library record for a printed book/journal, which gives further details and location information.

Catalogue of the Persian, Turkish, Hindustani, and Pushto manuscripts in the Bodleian Library, part 2.
by Hermann Ethé (Oxford, 1930). (Lists 43 Urdu, 4 Pushto manuscripts and 12 Indic picture collections). [DIGITIZED COPY available via MENADOC].
Codices sanscriticos complectens.
2 vols. by Simon Theodor Aufrecht, Moriz Winternitz & Arthur Berriedale Keith (Oxford, 1864-1905). Second volume has title: Catalogue of Sanskrit manuscripts in the Bodleian Library (Lists 1621 manuscripts).
Catalogue of the Sanskrit and Prakrit Manuscripts in the Indian Institute Library
by A.B. Keith, 1903 [DIGITIZED COPY available via the Internet Archive.]
Catalogue of the Sanskrit and Prakrit MSS. in the Indian Institute Library Oxford
by A.B. Keith (Oxford, 1903). (Lists 162 manuscripts).
A catalogue of the Sanskrit manuscripts purchased for the administrators of the Max Muller Memorial Fund
by Thomas Robert Gambier-Parry (Oxford, 1922). (Lists 99 manuscripts).
A catalogue of photographs of Sanskrit manuscripts : purchased for the administrators of the Max Muller Memorial Fund
by Thomas Robert Gambier-Parry (Oxford, 1930) (Lists 60 Rotographs).
Catalogue of the Stein Collection of Sanskrit Manuscripts from Kashmir
by Clauson and MacDonell, 1912 [DIGITIZED COPY available via the Internet Archive]
Catalogue of the Stein collection of Sanskrit MSS. from Kashmir
by Gerard Clauson in Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland, July 1912, pp. 587-627. (Lists 368 manuscripts) [PRINTED COPY]
Index Catalogue of MSS. Chandra Shum Shere vol. 1 (A-Tarpaṇa) [PDF, 56MB]
Index Catalogue of MSS. Chandra Shum Shere by T. Gambier Parry. Revised and Completed by E. H. Johnston [DIGITIZED COPY - large file]
Index Catalogue of MSS. Chandra Shum Shere vol. 1 (A-Tarpaṇa) [compressed PDF, 7MB]
Index Catalogue of MSS. Chandra Shum Shere by T. Gambier Parry. Revised and Completed by E. H. Johnston [DIGITIZED COPY - compressed file]
Index Catalogue of MSS. Chandra Shum Shere vol. 2 (Tarpaṇa-Muktāvalī) [PDF, 68MB]
Index Catalogue of MSS. Chandra Shum Shere by T. Gambier Parry. Revised and Completed by E. H. Johnston [DIGITIZED COPY - large file]
Index Catalogue of MSS. Chandra Shum Shere vol. 2 (Tarpaṇa-Muktāvalī) [compressed PDF, 9MB]
Index Catalogue of MSS. Chandra Shum Shere by T. Gambier Parry. Revised and Completed by E. H. Johnston [DIGITIZED COPY - compressed file]
Index Catalogue of MSS. Chandra Shum Shere vol. 3 (Muktāvalī-Haumikaprāyaścitta-Modern Indian Languages) [PDF, 87MB]
Index Catalogue of MSS. Chandra Shum Shere by T. Gambier Parry. Revised and Completed by E. H. Johnston [DIGITIZED COPY - large file]
Index Catalogue of MSS. Chandra Shum Shere vol. 3 (Muktāvalī-Haumikaprāyaścitta-Modern Indian Languages) [compressed PDF, 13MB]
Index Catalogue of MSS. Chandra Shum Shere by T. Gambier Parry. Revised and Completed by E. H. Johnston [DIGITIZED COPY - compressed file]
A descriptive catalogue of the Sanskrit and other Indian manuscripts of the Chandra Shum Shere collection in the Bodleian Library
ed. Jonathan Katz (Oxford, 1984-). D. Pingree (1984). pt.1 Jyotihsastra. (Lists 575 manuscripts) J. Brockington, (1999) pt..2 Epics and Puranas. (Lists 825 manuscripts) K.P. Aithal,1999. pt. 3 Stotras.(Lists 548 manuscripts).
A handlist of Jyotisa manuscripts in the Chandra Shum Shere collection preserved in the Bodleian Library, Oxford
by David Pingree (Providence, R.I., [1976].
A handlist of the Vyakarana manuscripts in the Chandra Shum Shere collection preserved in the Bodleian Library, Oxford
by D. Wujastyk (London, 1984).
'Sanskrit Ayurvedic manuscripts in the British Isles. Appendix 1. Ayurvedic manuscripts in the Chandra Shum Shere collections, Oxford'
by D. Wujastyk (1990) in Journal of the European Ayurvedic Society, vol. 1 pp. 91-111. A handlist of 160 Ayurvedic manuscripts in the Chandra Shum Shere collection.

Sinhalese

All links here are to the SOLO library record for the book/journal, which gives further details and location information.

‘Sinhala palm-leaf manuscripts in the Bodleian Library Oxford'
by J. Liyanaratne, in Bodleian Library Record, XIII (1991) pp. 514-518. A handlist of 48 previously unidentified Sinhala manuscripts in the Bodleian's collection.
‘Sri Lankan Medical manuscripts in the Bodleian Library, Oxford’
by J. Liyanaratne in Journal of the European Ayruvedic Society, vol. 2 (1992) pp. 36-53. (Lists and describes the Bodleian's collection of 36 palm-leaf manuscripts in Sinhala script.

Tamil & Kannada

Catalogue of the Tamil and Canarese manuscripts in the Bodleian Library
by G.V. Pope (manuscript slips, n.d.). Available in the Charles Wendell David Reading Room.

Telugu

Manuscripts in the Telegu or Tenugu language which is the vernacular of Masulipatam and the Northern Circats in India
(manuscript; [Oxford], n.d.) Available in the Charles Wendell David Reading Room.

Tibetan

Descriptive catalogue of Tibetan manuscripts in the Bodleian
[PDF, 13.2MB]
Catalogue of the Tibetan manuscripts in the Bodleian Library
by E. Schlagintweit (manuscript, 1885-95). Available in the Charles Wendell David Reading Room.

Urdu

All links here are to the SOLO library record for the book/journal, which gives further details and location information, or to a digitized resource.

Catalogue of the Persian, Turkish, Hindustani, and Pushto manuscripts in the Bodleian Library, part 2.
by Hermann Ethé (Oxford, 1930). (Lists 43 Urdu, 4 Pushto manuscripts and 12 Indic picture collections). [DIGITIZED COPY available via MENADOC]

Subject Guide

Alasdair Watson

Search SOLO

SOLO (Seach Oxford Libraries Online)