Skip to main content

Wolfson College Library: Home

Subjects: College Libraries

Opening Hours

The Library is open to members of Wolfson College Library daily throughout the year.

Readers from other institutions wishing to consult our collections should make an appiontment with the Librarian

If you need any help or have any questions or comments concerning the Library please contact the Librarian who is available each weekday except Thursday

The Floersheimer Library,

Wolfson College,

Linton Road,

Oxford, OX14 3BA

Telephone (01865) (2)74076

Search SOLO

The Library

Wolfson College Library is one of the best (non-specialized) graduate college libraries in Oxford. The Library provides a quiet and comfortable working environment over three floors, and is open twenty-four hours a day throughout the year. The Library aims to facilitate access to and serve the needs of the new and experienced researcher alike through all of its services.

The Library holds several named research collections, the Jeremy Black Collection in Near Eastern Studies, the Gillian R Hart Collection in Classical Philology, and the Michael Aris Collection in Tibetan and Himalayan Studies. Generous bequests give the Library strengths in Ancient History and Classics, Philosophy and Indology. The collections are kept up to date by suggestions from fellows and students. It also aims to hold the core texts for taught courses.

A number of individual and casual study carrels are available within the Library. There is provision for the use of personal laptops and access to the Internet and electronic resources throughout the Library. There is a self-issue system and loan periods are generous. The Library welcomes suggestions for purchase for its collections. An inter-library loan service provides for resources not found in other Oxford Libraries.

A professional librarian is on hand to assist readers with their information needs throughout their research, whether it's familiarizing them with the libraries in Oxford, consulting the catalogue, or showing them how to exploit effectively the extensive range of electronic resources.

If you have any questions concerning the Library please contact the Librarian.

Subject Guide