East View is deeply committed to supporting the academic and research communities by ensuring that information from Ukraine and the surrounding region remains accessible. The very name of the company conveys a dedication to get the “East” view—as diverse, as complex, even as impenetrable and perhaps offensive as it may be—to the outside world. That mission, and East View’s commitment to it, has never been more important.
Below you will find a list of online commercial resources on Ukraine available from East View, as well as free e-resources, print resources, and some information about additional content in East View’s holdings which may be digitized and made accessible for scholars on a custom project basis. East View will also collect and post all relevant service updates here, plus links to other recommended reliable sources of information on this topic, many of which are provided by our associates and clients.
900+ titles; 1991–2002; in Ukrainian, Russian, other
The collection includes local newspapers of record from over 340 cities and towns across Ukraine. All told, it features dozens of publications from each of the 25 provincial-level units of Ukraine, including Crimea. The majority of titles are in Ukrainian (about 80%) and in Russian (about 15%), with others represented, including Armenian, Crimean Tatar, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Polish, and more. This is a GPA CRL Alliance collection and is available as Open Access to scholars at affiliated institutions of the Center for Research Libraries. Learn more.
5 titles; 1900-1939; in Ukrainian, 1 title in Russian
The early 20th century was a fateful time in Ukraine’s history. Attempts to establish an independent Ukrainian state were fraught with revolution, civil war, and foreign invasions—events now referred to as the Ukrainian War of Independence or the Soviet-Ukrainian War. In the following years, rapid Soviet collectivization of agriculture in the Ukrainian SSR triggered the Holodomor: a famine that started in 1932 and killed millions of Ukrainians. This collection traces the history of Ukraine during this tumultuous era—covering events leading up to WWII. Comprising five titles and over 50,000 pages, SEUN includes newspapers from three cities: Kyiv, Kharkiv, and Lviv. This is a GPA CRL Alliance collection and is available as Open Access to scholars at affiliated institutions of the Center for Research Libraries. Learn more.
Below are titles from the region that have continued to publish after February 24, 2022. East View considers these titles to still be active and current content is being added to East View’s platform as available. This content is available to browse and purchase as individual articles through East View On Demand, or as annual subscriptions as part of our Ukrainian Publications (UDB-UKR) database, unless otherwise noted.
Note: Click on the newspaper titles to access On Demand content.
Holos Ukrainy, daily, Kyiv, official paper of record
Halychyna, weekly, western Ukraine
Literaturna Ukraina, weekly, Kyiv
Odes’ki visti, weekly, Odesa
Slobids’kyi krai, daily, Kharkiv oblast
Zerkalo nedeli (web version), daily, Kyiv newspaper (only available as part of UDB-UKR)
Russian-language newspapers from Crimea and breakaway regions
Krymskaia Pravda, daily, Simferopol
Krymskie Izvestiia, daily, Simferopol
Slava Sevastopolia, daily, Sevastopol (now ceased, last issue published 6/30/22)
Flag Rodiny, weekly, Sevastopol (included in UDB-MIL: Russian Military and Security Periodicals)
Vostochnyi Donbass, irregular, Sverdlovsk (please inquire for access)
Novorossia, irregular, Donetsk (please inquire for access)
Government publications
Defense Express Newswire, weekly, Kyiv
Uriadovyi kur’ier, daily, Kyiv
Subscriptions to the above titles are available as part of the Ukrainian Publications (UDB-UKR) database (unless otherwise noted). The database includes both current and archive content for these titles and more. Read on below for more information about UDB-UKR and other online resources on Ukraine available from East View.
1992-Feb. 7, 2020 (suspended) | in Ukrainian | request free trial
Well-respected independent newspaper; an important resource in charting the rise of an independent media landscape in Ukraine and for studying the country’s checkered democratic transition since independence.
1991-current | in Ukrainian | request free trial
Founded in 1991 shortly before the dissolution of the Soviet Union, Holos Ukrainy (Голос України, Voice of Ukraine) is one of the most important Ukrainian dailies and a newspaper of record. Partially funded by the state, the newspaper is the official organ of the Ukrainian parliament, the Verkhovna Rada.
1991-2018 | in Ukrainian | request free trial
Narodna armiia (Народна армія, People’s Army) was released at the beginning of Ukrainian independence and with the newly created Armed Forces of Ukraine. Published in Kyiv, this Ukrainian-language publication details the creation, reform, and redevelopment of the Armed Forces of Ukraine with a particular focus on military training, international military cooperation, and social benefits for servicemen and their family members.
1990-2009 | in Ukrainian | request free trial
Published in Kyiv, Narodna hazeta (Народна газета, People’s Newspaper) was a continuation of the short-lived Rukh (1989-1990), with the motto “For the unity of national-democratic forces.” This Ukrainian-language publication was pro-independence, anti-communist, and provided detailed coverage of the lead-up to the first democratic elections held in the Ukrainian SSR. It ceased publication in 2009 due to bankruptcy.
1991-2002 | in Russian | request free trial
Established in 1991 on the eve of the Ukrainian declaration of independence, Nezavisimost’ (Независимость, Independence) was an independent, high-profile Russian-language daily. One of the most popular newspapers in the early years of Ukrainian independence, Nezavisimost’ covered domestic and international politics, business and economic affairs, and popular culture, becoming a lively outlet for social and political commentary, opinion and analysis.
1938-2014 | in Russian | request free trial
Official daily newspaper of the Communist Party of Ukraine.
1990-2006 | in Ukrainian | request free trial
The Ukrainian-language Za Vil’nu Ukrainu (За Вільну Україну, For a Free Ukraine) was founded in July 1990 in L’viv as an outlet of the Regional Council of Workers’ Deputies with the stated purpose of uniting national-patriotic forces and Ukrainian ideals.
2013-2015 | in Russian | title list | request free trial
Rare newspapers from the self-proclaimed republics. Includes archive content for 10 titles.
1997-present | multiple languages including Ukrainian, Russian, English | title list | request free trial
Real-time access to essential Ukrainian newspapers and journals, featuring titles such as Defense Express, Dnepr Vechernii, Halychyna, Holos Ukrainy, Khreshchatyk, Korespondent, Krymskaia pravda, and Ukraina moloda. Includes current and archive content for 23 active titles and archive content for 17 ceased/suspended titles.
Note: Some active titles in this database are experiencing delays in updating content. We will continue to load content as it becomes available.
2012 -present | in Ukrainian, with some in Russian and English | title list | request free trial
Published by the State Statistical Services of Ukraine, offers the most comprehensive statistical data on key economic, social, and environmental trends and developments in Ukraine. Includes 90 active titles.
Note: Some active titles in this database are experiencing delays in updating content. We will continue to load content as it becomes available
2001-present | in Ukrainian | title list | request free trial
Comprehensive bibliographic database for printed works in Ukraine, including books, newspapers, journals, documentary materials, literary criticism and reviews, fine arts, sheet music, dissertations, and cartographic publications. Includes 9 active titles and 2 ceased/suspended titles.
Note: Some active titles in this database are experiencing delays in updating content. We will continue to load content as it becomes available
Collections of election and social movement material, such as candidate biographies and financial disclosures; campaign statements, stickers and advertisements; complaints of fraud and election irregularities; election programs and political party charters; political posters and brochures; voter bulletins, handouts and leaflets; special newspaper editions; and more. request free trial
Available content includes:
Crimea Elections, 1994
Euromaidan Protests, 2013-2014
Parliamentary Elections, 2012, 2014, 2019
Presidential Elections, 2014, 2019
New publishers * Growing content * User-friendly * Easy access
East View is committed to supporting and working with Ukrainian publishers to grow our list of available e-books. We are pleased to announce the addition of a number of new Ukrainian publishers to our e-book platform:
Contact [email protected] for more information.
Chernobyl Newspapers Collection – 1979-1990, in Ukrainian and Russian, includes three previously unavailable local newspapers — Prapor peremohy, Tribuna Energetika, and Trybuna pratsi — published in towns in the exclusion zone and its immediate vicinity. request free trial
The Chernobyl Files — declassified documents of the Ukrainian KGB from 1971-1991, including coverage of the lesser-known 1982 partial meltdown of reactor Block no. 1. request free trial
Judaica Digital Collections — resources from the State Archives of Kyiv Oblast’, covering the 1850s to the early 1920s. The collections include documentation from important historical events, such as Kyiv’s Bloody October of 1905 and the Beilis Case. Topics covered include emigration from Ukraine, before and during the Soviet era; anti-Semitic groups, ethnic tension and the resulting pogroms; Jewish societies and education programs; and more. request free trial
Ukraine Between the Wars — a collection of 150+ e-books, concentrated primarily between 1912 and 1929, that provides insight into a historical period when competing ideas about Ukraine, Ukrainians, and their future fueled vibrant debates and violent clashes. flyer | title list | request free trial
Additional research collections are also available for digitization – see the Other Ukrainian Holdings section below for details.
1997-present | multiple languages including Belarusian, English, Estonian, Russian, Ukrainian | title list | request free trial
Real-time access to essential periodicals from the region, featuring titles such as Den’, Litovskii kur’er, Moldavskie vedomosti, Postimees, SB. Belarus’ segodnia, and The Minsk Times (in English). Includes two active Ukrainian titles not included in Ukrainian Publications (UDB-UKR) – Pozitsiia and Vecherka plius. Includes 12 active titles and 13 ceased titles.
Note: Some active titles in this database are experiencing delays in updating content. We will continue to load content as it becomes available.
East View offers numerous single title subscriptions to periodicals from the region. Click here to view the full list of available titles.
Below are additional resources from East View which may be digitized and made accessible for scholars on a custom project basis. Please contact your East View representative for more information or use the contact form at the bottom of this webpage.
LandScan HD for Ukraine was completed and released in January 2022 (click here to download). LandScan HD provides gridded population estimates at 3 arc-second (~100m) resolution. Values for each LandScan HD cell represent an ambient (i.e., 24 hour average) population count estimate.
Note: LandScan HD for Russia is also available as a free download – please click here to download.
East View Press, an imprint of East View Information Services, publishes translated editions of several Russian journals, as well as The Current Digest of the Russian Press, a weekly journal that provides translations of current articles from Russian central newspapers. A selection of translated articles are available on the topic of Ukraine here.
Note: East View Press will continue to update this page with free content so be sure to check back often.
East View offers a wide range of scholarly monographs and print periodicals from Ukraine and other countries of the former USSR and Eastern Europe. Browse titles and place your order through shop.eastview.com or contact [email protected] for more information. Note that East View also offers a wide selection of e-books from the region on a variety of topics, and that approval plans are available for both print and e-books.
Please contact [email protected] regarding any service updates or questions regarding service. For any questions related to the supply of print books and periodicals from Ukraine and the surrounding region please contact [email protected].
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace – Ukraine news and Carnegie analysis on the Ukraine crisis
Columbia University, Harriman Institute – Ukraine news and Russia’s War on Ukraine
Cornell University – Focus: Ukraine
H-Ukraine, H-Net’s network on Ukraine
Harvard University Ukrainian Research Institute
Library of Congress – The Russian Invasion of Ukraine: Resources at the Library of Congress
London School of Economics Expertise: Ukraine and the global response
Marshall Center Papers on Ukraine
Princeton University Library – Russia’s Invasion of Ukraine: Information Resource Guide
University of Alberta Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies
University of Michigan – news coverage and library research guide on the Russian invasion of Ukraine
Wilson Center Focus Ukraine blog