Thurs 21 Feb (6th week) 2-4pm, Lecture Theatre, History Faculty
A two hour seminar during which key online resources relating to church history, covering largely Christianity from medieval to early 20th century, will be demonstrated. The resources include bibliographical and reference tools, digital source materials and how to keep up-to-date with new publications.
Presenters: Isabel Holowaty (History Librarian) and Hilla Wait (Theology & Philosophy Librarian)
Tue 25 and Fri 28 February, 2-3.30pm
Lecture Theatre, Weston Library
This session provides an introduction to using archives for research and will cover
• defining archives
• archival arrangement
• the practicalities of working with archival material
• finding relevant archives
• archives in the Bodleian, the University and further afield
• web archives
Presenter: Lucy McCann (Senior Archivist, Weston Library)
No need to book. Just turn up.
The University's Language Centre has a lot to offer for historians wishing to upgrade their language skills or, quite simply, start learning a language. There are several courses for historians, and a variety of regular Languages for All courses for all skill ranges.
They also have a lending library encouraging self-learning with a lot of language learning resources for 180 languages, including books and CDs, a very nice film collection and satellite television available in several languages. They also encourage online learning.
And finally, they have a successful language exchange programme which allows you to speak with native speakers.
If you would like a one-to-one session to get help on any aspect of library resources and tools (SOLO, databases, ejournals, etc.) and generally get advice and tips for locating sources for British and Western European history, then sign up for a 1-1 session by emailing the History Librarian.
You can find details of Bodleian Libraries' subject specialists online for other areas.
The National Archives offers are range of information skills training courses aimed specifically at postgraduates. Sessions include: