There are a number of historical archives and special collections available in the biology collections. These archives are now mainly held off-site but you can find some information about them on this page.
Some of these items are not listed on SOLO, but can be searched by using a variety of other finding aids. Questions about searching or viewing the archives may be directed to specialcollections.enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
The Bodleian Libraries hold an extensive collection of ornithology books, journals, bulletins and grey literature as part of the Alexander Library Collections. Please see the ornithology guide for more information and contact details for enquiries.
Contents: Reprints of individual articles from journals and conference proceedings.
Location: Radcliffe Science Library, stored off-site.
Finding aids: Many of these reprints can be found listed on two local catalogues on RefWorks. For further information and assistance in accessing this collection, please contact the Radcliffe Science Library.
The library holds a selection of archival material from the former Department of Zoology (now integrated into the Department of Biology) including material from the Bureau of Animal Population (B.A.P.). These collections are held off-site in the Collection Storage Facility (CSF). They are administered by Bodleian Special Collections and may be ordered to and consulted at the Bodleian Weston Library.
Zoology Archive - A collection of departmental records, lecture notes, papers, images, letters and other material. Includes photographs taken during the Challenger expedition between 1872 and 1876. A full listing is available via the online Bodleian Archives and Manuscripts catalogue.
Zoology Map Archive - Contains maps and charts relating to animal surveys, including UK grey and red squirrel distribution data. Maps relating to Wytham Woods and maps relating to the Hudson Bay Company in Canada are included. A full listing is available via the online Bodleian Archives and Manuscripts catalogue.
Archive of the Bureau of Animal Population (B.A.P.) - Contains records, research data, notes, photographs, unpublished papers and other materials related to the Bureau of Animal Population established by Charles Elton at Oxford University. Includes data relating to a number of studies undertaken in Wytham Woods. A full listing is available via the online Bodleian Archives and Manuscripts catalogue.
Archive of the Bureau of Animal Population (B.A.P.)
A number of the field notes and diaries of Charles Elton relating to University Arctic expeditions, work at the Bureau of Animal Populations and Wytham Woods have recently been transcribed and digitised. They have been made available to download freely from the ORA Data repository.
From 1990, publications have been included that are based on work carried out at the Wytham Field Station and farmland, and work that uses species from these areas. Use the link below to view listings of Wytham publications and theses.