Skip to main content

Theses and dissertations: Theses from other UK universities

How to locate

The Bodleian Library has purchased copies of some UK theses. These can be found on SOLO (Search Oxford Libraries Online) and may be ordered up from the& bookstack.

Foreign Dissertations Catalogue card index

A number of early theses accepted for higher degrees and published before 1973 are held in the Bodleian Library but are not yet catalogued on SOLO. These holdings can be found in the Foreign Dissertations Catalogue card index. This catalogue is not currently available to readers. Access to material in this catalogue is via staff at the Main Enquiry Desk in the Lower Reading Room of the Old Bodeian Library. Please email Reader Services, or phone 01865 277162.

Many theses from other UK universities are available to be downloaded for free from the British Library's EThOS service.
You need to register a free account in order to download or order the full text of theses. .

It is also useful to check Library Hub Discover, which gives access to the online catalogues of some of the largest university and research libraries in the UK and Ireland, to see if the thesis has been purchased by one of these libraries.

Largest repository of graduate dissertations and theses from universities around the world. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

A bibliographical database of research in the British Isles. The database has been continuously extended from the printed volume, most recently with 242 recent theses added in 2019. Lists details of over 5,600 doctoral and selected masters’ theses from British and Irish universities. Covers research relating to Eastern and Central Europe, Russia, and the area of the former USSR, including Central Asia, the Caucasus and Siberia.

An online repository of doctoral theses from the Universities of Leeds, Sheffield and York. It is part of a national & international network of open access online databases which promote access to research outputs. Many theses have been digitised by the British Library as part of the EThOS. However there have been instances where theses are available via WhiteRose eTheses Online before they reach EThOS.

Go to individual UK universities' sites for their online theses repositories. See, for example, LSE Theses Online or UCL Discovery

ILL requests

Theses from other UK universities may be requested via inter-library loan.

You can place a request using an online request form. Contact details are automatically imported to the form, so the only the details of the book or section are required. Articles/chapters will be sent by email, and books will be delivered to the library of choice. The form is accessed using Oxford Single Sign On or Bodleian Libraries login, and payment is managed using the PCAS accounts currently used for printing, copying, and scanning.

Please check SOLO thoroughly before placing a request to ensure Oxford does not hold a copy and contact staff if you have any questions.

It may not be possible to obtain some theses due to restrictions on lending placed by the author of the thesis or the institution at which it is held.

The standard subsidised fee will apply for applications for inter-library loans of UK theses made by current members of Oxford University.
Readers who are not current members of Oxford University will be charged differently; we recommend that such readers use the facilities provided by their own institution or their local public library.

Making copies from UK university theses

Many theses from UK universities are available to be downloaded for free from the British Library's EThOS service.

Copies of Cambridge theses can be purchased by completing their Digital Content Unit's online order form. There is a standard charge of £75 (plus VAT and postage).

It may be possible to copy small sections from a paper thesis obtained via inter-library loan.

Different restrictions on copying are imposed by supplying libraries. All copying must be done within the UK Copyright guidelines. Some libraries insist on any copying being done only with permission, or by a staff-mediated service. Ask your library for details. Enquiry and reserve desk staff may be able to advise; if, however, you require more detailed information enquiries should be directed to the Inter-library loans section: by phone, 01865 (2)77069, or via email.