Oxford LibGuides: Legislation: India

Indian legislation

Holders of an Oxford SSO should use a subscription database as their source for modern/current legislation.

For historic versions of pre-independence legislation they should see if LLMC-digital has scanned it.

Lexis+ UK
Click on International link below search box on Lexis home page to find to Indian specific search box - and way to drill down futher into Indian sources by category.: case law, legislation and secondary sources
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
Manupatra Extra username and password are required for this resource. See Username and password webpage for details
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative name: Manupatra - Indian Law and Business

Indian legal and business information.
Please use one username and password set from the options. If it does not work please try the other. Each allows single user access only - so please remember to log off properly when you have finished your session in Manupatra.
Provided through the generosity of global law firm, Baker & McKenzie.

For historical research try

LLMC-digital
Alternative names: LLMC ; Law Library Microfilm Consortium’s Online Service ; LLMC Digital

LLMC-digital is a collection of English language legal titles and government documents divided into ten major jurisdictional or subject areas:
US Federal Government; US States and Territories; Canada; United Kingdom; Germany federal; Germany state, kingdoms and free cities; Other Countries (Afghanistan to Zimbabwe); International Law and Organizations; Indigenous Law covering materials from various regions of the United States, Canada and Indonesia; and Special Focus Collections which includes British Empire Studies, Canon Law, Islamic Law, Military Law, Native American Collection, Roman law, etc.

Available to anyone with access to the internet

AdvocateKhoj Bare Acts
Free resource. Full-text access to over 300 Bare Acts passed by the Indian Parliament since 1834.
India Code : Digital Repository of All Central and State Acts
Free resourceContent Provided by the Ministries/Departments in the Government of India.
Site designed and developed by National Informatics Centre,
more...less...
It is a database of all Central enactments which are in force and their subordinate legislations made from time to time. With the help of this system, retrieving of any Central Act and its relevant subordinate legislations of one’s interest in an up-to-date form has been simplified and made extremely user-friendly and accessible at push of few buttons.

It also contains Legislations enacted by the States and Union Territory Administrations along with their relevant subordinate legislations.

WHAT IS IN IT :-
----------------------
This Text Base consists of all enactments/Legislations enacted by the Central, States and Union Territory Administrations and their subordinate legislations made from time to time. The Search Facility is available on the following fields:

1. Short Title
2. Act Number
3. Act Year
4. Enactment Date
5. Ministry
6. Department
A Free Text Search is also available.
Legal Information Institute of India (LIIofIndia)
OA resource A member of the global Free Access to Law Movement
NATLEX: ILO's Database of national labour, social security and related human rights legislation

As you might expect, there are some similaraties between Indian and UK Act structure.

Firstl you have the short title of the Act (e.g. National Jute Board Act), which is used in citations, followed by the number and year, and the date it came into force.
This is then followed by the longer title (not normally used) and preamble.
The Act is divided into sections and subsections, which can be searched for in databases such as Manupatra.