Oxford LibGuides: Architecture for Continuing Education: Finding books

Key resources

AA Library, Photo Library & Archive
AA members, students and researchers in the fields of architectural education and history are welcome to consult the AA Archives. For more information about other AA facilities and services open to researchers and students please click on the link above.
RIBA Library Catalogue
The largest and most comprehensive resource in the United Kingdom for research and information on all aspects of architecture.
Art History Research Net
AHR net is the new name for the Arts:Search website and consists of four related and linked databases including:
ReVIEW – Provides full text of arts and architecture journals
and
Arts + Architecture ProFILES – Includes biographical data on over 40,000 artists, architects and designers

New books

Monthly lists of new books added to the Rewley House Continuing Education Library can be found on the Library website

Books are listed in subject number order, so scroll down to the 710s for books on Town and Country Planning and Garden History and the 720s for books on Architecture.

Purchase suggestions

If you would like to recommend an item for purchase by the Library, please fill in a Book Suggestion form.

Please note that it may not be possible to purchase all recommendations, depending on availability and cost.

How to find books on SOLO

You can locate books (both print and electronic) held in Oxford University libraries by looking them up on SOLO, Oxford libraries' catalogue, at http://solo.bodleian.ox.ac.uk. You can use the search box on the left to get started, or follow the link above.

Are you looking for a specific book?

Enter the author's surname and a few significant words from the title. Leave out words like 'the', 'an', 'of' etc.

Are you only interested in books held by the Rewley House Continuing Education Library?

On the main SOLO search screen, click 'All libraries/Collections' and select 'Continuing Education Library' from the dropdown box.

For more information on searching SOLO, see the SOLO Guide

Architecture books in other Oxford University libraries

Students on award-bearing courses - undergraduate and postgraduate certificate and diploma courses and Masters courses - may use other Oxford University libraries.

A full list of Libraries with links to their websites can be found on the Bodleian Libraries website. Libraries with collections including Architecture include:

Bodleian Library
The Bodleian Library holds many UK publications on Architecture. Many books are on closed access and must be ordered from the stacks on SOLO. Books on open access are mainly in the Gladstone Link.
Radcliffe Camera, History Faculty Library
The History Faculty Library houses the University of Oxford's main collection of undergraduate lending materials in both Medieval and Modern History, as well as in the History of Art and History of Science, all of which could be useful.
Sackler Library
The Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library is one of the principal research libraries of the University of Oxford and specialises in Archaeology, Architecture, Art History, and Classics (Ancient History and Literature). It incorporates the constituent departmental libraries of the Ashmolean Museum and strongly reflects the collection strengths of the Museum.

Searching beyond Oxford?

There may be times when you wish to consult library catalogues beyond Oxford University. This may be because:

You need to conduct a thorough literature review
You wish to know if an item is available in a library nearer to home
You would like to know if an item is available in the public library system

The following links may be useful (note that finding an item does not guarantee you access to the library holding it):

Jisc Library Hub Discover
Library Hub Discover replaced Copac in July 2019. Use it to search a database of 161 UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues.
Public libraries
Enter your postcode to find your nearest library
US: WorldCat
A very large union catalogue of libraries, mainly in the US, including the Library of Congress. Excellent for establishing proof of publication.