To find ebooks by or about a particular author or topic on SOLO (and excluding electronic articles, book reviews etc.), limit your search to ‘Oxford Collections’ (instead of ‘Search Everything’), and once you’ve done your search, use the filters in the left-hand column to show only Online Resources.
To access ebooks just search for a title in SOLO and click on 'Online access' to read online, or download chapters. Remember to sign in using your SSO first!
You may find items with a notice stating Electronic Legal Deposit item - available via Bodleian Libraries reading room PCs only
These items are received through Legal Deposit legislation, which entitles the Bodleian Libraries to receive a copy of every item published in the UK & Ireland. The Legal Deposit Act 2003 imposes restrictions on these items. If you urgently require access to a book please use our book recommendation form and the Bodleian will investigate purchasing an e-book for you.
Oxford Reference brings together over 2 million entries from across Oxford's Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Companions.
It allows you to search across hundreds of different language dictionaries including American, Australian, British, Canadian and New Zealand English. You can also browse or search many subject specific dictionaries such as Dictionary of Literary Terms, Dictionary of critical theory, Dictionary of Drama.
Cambridge Collections Online provides fully searchable online editions of all the Cambridge Companions series in Literature, Classics, Philosophy, Religion and Culture. You can search by specific title and also by keyword within the text. Individual chapters can be viewed as pdf files, which replicate the print version of the book, or in html for onscreen viewing.
Oxford Academic offers access to thousands of academic works from Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities. These eBooks can all be found by searching SOLO, but you can use the website directly to search across the full text of all the eBooks at once.