English Language: a short guide to online resources: eBooks & reference

To find ebooks by or about a particular author or topic on SOLO (and excluding electronic articles, book reviews etc.), limit your search to ‘Oxford Collections’ (instead of ‘Search Everything’), and once you’ve done your search, use the filters in the left-hand column to show only Online Resources.

To access ebooks just search for a title in SOLO and click on 'Online access' to read online, or download chapters. Remember to sign in using your SSO first!

You may find items with a notice stating Electronic Legal Deposit item - available via Bodleian Libraries reading room PCs only

These items are received through Legal Deposit legislation, which entitles the Bodleian Libraries to receive a copy of every item published in the UK & Ireland.  The Legal Deposit Act 2003 imposes restrictions on these items.  If you urgently require access to a book please use our book recommendation form and the Bodleian will investigate purchasing an e-book for you.

The Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics covers the full range of topics in contemporary linguistics, with coverage across all aspects of spoken, written and signed language.  You'll find it by searching SOLO, or click the link below for the online version.

Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics (Second Edition)
Editor-in-Chief:   Keith Brown
ISBN: 978-0-08-044854-1               

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resource)

Wiley Online Library provides full text access to key reference works. The texts are fully searchable and chapters can be read online in html format. You can browse the Linguistics section to find the titles you require or search a particular title or the whole collection.

This title is particularly useful for Paper 1:

• A Companion to the History of the English Language Edited by Haruko Momma and Michael Matto

Other examples from the collection include:

• The Handbook of English Linguistics Edited by Bas Arts and April McMahon
• The Handbook of World Englishes Edited by Braj B. Kachru, Yamuna Kachru and Cecil L. Nelson
• The Handbook of Language and Gender Edited by Janet Holmes and Miriam Meyerhoff
   

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to these ebooks)

Oxford Reference brings together over 175 Quick Reference works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The English Dictionaries and Reference section includes regional English dictionaries (Australian, Canadian, New Zealand and American Englishes) and English grammar and usage guides.

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resources)

Cambridge Companions Online provides fully searchable online editions of all the Cambridge Companions series in Literature, Classics, Philosophy, Religion and Culture.  You can search by specific title and also by keyword within the text. Individual chapters can be viewed as pdf files, which replicate the print version of the book, or in html for onscreen viewing.

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resource)