Skip to main content

Bodleian Library (Old Library & Radcliffe Camera): Radcliffe Camera & Gladstone Link

Radcliffe Camera

The Upper Camera Reading Room holds the Bodleian Library's teaching collection for History and English. Useful information on these subjects can be found in our LibGuides for History General, the Guides for British History and the Guides for English. It also holds the History Faculty Library's Undergraduate Set Text reference collection. There is no delivery point for material from the closed stack in this reading room. More detailed information about the collections and services in the Upper Camera Reading Room, including a map of the reading room, can be found on the Upper Camera Reading Room's webpage

Pictures of Lower Camera and Upper Camera reading rooms

The Lower Camera Reading Room holds the beginning of the History Faculty Library's lending collection, which continues in the Upper Gladstone Link. Readers can order up to 10 closed-stack requests to the "Bod Radcliffe Camera (Lower)" Self Collect service point in this reading room. For more information about Self Collect please see our webpage about the Self Collect book service. More detailed information about the collections and services in the Lower Camera Reading Room, including a map of the reading room, can be found on the Lower Camera Reading Room's webpage.

For more information about the History Faculty Library, please see the section below or visit their the History Faculty Library's webpage

History Faculty Library

The History Faculty Library is located within the Radcliffe Camera. Staff can be found at the History Faculty Library Staff Office in the Upper Camera Reading Room and at service points in the Lower Camera Reading Room. The Library's collections are shelved in the Upper and Lower Camera reading rooms and in the Gladstone Link.

Pictures of Upper Camera ceiling and Gallery

The main lending collection, with Library of Congress (LCC) classification, begins in the Lower Camera Reading Room and continues mainly in the Upper Gladstone Link with a small portion of the sequence continuing in the Lower Gladstone Link.  There are regular sized and oversize sections of the sequence.  These books can be borrowed by current members of Oxford University, once they have registered as Bod HFL members. They can be borrowed only from the Lower Camera Reading Room.

The Local History Collection is in the Lower Gladstone Link.  This is a small lending collection of English and Welsh local history series. These books can be borrowed from the Lower Camera Reading Room by current members of Oxford University, once they have registered as Bod HFL members.

For more information, please visit the History Faculty Library website

 

Gladstone Link

The Gladstone Link links the Radcliffe Camera and Old Bodleian Library into a single library complex, enabling library users and collections to move freely through the site. The Gladstone Link offers a more informal seating space than that found in the traditional reading rooms. It can be accessed via the Lower Camera Reading Room or via a tunnel leading from the north staircase (or nearby lift) in the Old Bodleian Library. There are two levels: the Upper Gladstone Link and Lower Gladstone Link

The Lower Gladstone Link houses a large collection of highly used Bodleian Library material previously only available on request from closed stacks. It also houses new acquisitions comprising the majority of the last three years of the Library's acquisitions in the Humanities and runs of Humanities print journals (Per. Hums.), shelved alphabetically by title.

Picture of Upper Gladstone Link

The Upper level of the Link houses the History Faculty Library's main lending collection, which continues from the Lower Camera Reading Room. This collection has Library of Congress (LCC) classification and can be borrowed by current members of Oxford University from the Lower Camera Reading Room, once they have registered as Bodleian History Faculty Library members. For more information about the History Faculty Library, including contact details, please visit the History Faculty Library website