A guide to using ORA: for searching, depositing and disseminating digital copies of Oxford University produced research publications such as journal articles, conference papers, working papers, posters, and theses.
ORA (Oxford University Research Archive) is the institutional repository for the University of Oxford. ORA was established in 2007 as a permanent and secure online archive of research materials produced by members of the University of Oxford.
ORA provides a single point of public access to electronic copies of peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, working papers, reports, book sections, research data, and research theses by Oxford authors. ORA also provides a means for institutional compliance with funders' Open Access requirements.
The full text and abstracts of many items within the archive can be downloaded free of charge by anyone with an Internet connection and new full texts are being added daily.
ORA is maintained by staff within the Open Collections of the Bodleian Libraries. Contact details are available here. Please see Depositing in ORA for information on how to contribute your work to the archive.
You can explore the content and find out more about ORA at https://ora.ox.ac.uk/, as well as links to the policies that define the services offered.
The University favours, now and for the foreseeable future, open access by means of the Green Route (self-archiving). This enables authors to publish in any journal and to self-archive a version of the article for free public use. Thus the Green approach provides most of the benefits for a much smaller additional cost than Gold Open Access (which involves paying Article Processing Charges) (APCs).
ORA offers compliance via the Green route and aims to make the full text of as many items as possible Open Access, allowing for free dissemination of full text content, available to anyone with Internet access.
Making items Open Access removes barriers that restrict access to published work. ORA is able to promote and encourage the sharing of the scholarly output produced by the members of the University of Oxford that have been published under Open Access conditions.
Open Access work should be properly attributed according to standard academic practice.
There are two methods of making work open access:
More details with regards to depositing in ORA can be found here.
