Skip to main content
Online catalogues, & citation, full-text & image databases
- Archives of American Art (Smithsonian Institution)
Primary source materials relating to the history of the arts (and architecture) in America, from 1620 to the present. Collections comprise artists’, photographers', architects’, galleries’, collectors’, and critics’ papers (including sketchbooks and photographs), as well as numerous oral histories (& transcripts).
- ArtBibliographies Modern
Covers publications 1974 – present. Index to Western-language journal articles, essays, books, exhibition catalogues and dissertations on modern art and photography. All geographical areas.
- Art Full Text (including Art Abstracts)
Covers publications 1984 – present. Abstracts available from 1994. Full text coverage varies with journal title. Wide-ranging index to Western-language journal articles, book reviews and images in mainstream archaeology, architecture, conservation and "fine" and "decorative" arts periodicals. All geographical areas and all periods (ancient – contemporary).
- Artists’ Papers Register
Index to the locations of the papers of artists, designers and craftspeople held in publicly accessible collections in the United Kingdom and Ireland. Architects’ papers are not included in the APR.
Union collection of image collections worldwide. Approaching 1,000,000 images covering all periods, all geographic areas and all types of art, architecture and archaeology as well as other subject areas in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Hisitory of Medicine and Science. Contributing collections include libraries, museums and archives, including the Bodleian’s Western Manuscripts and Incunabula collection. All periods, all geographic areas.
- Bridgeman Education
300,000+ images of objects from museums, galleries and private collections, as well as buildings and monuments. Images cover visual culture worldwide, from pre-History to the present day. Media covered include photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, the decorative arts, artefacts and applied arts. It addresses the interests of such disciplines as art, architecture, archaeology, anthropology, & ethnography, history, science & medicine. All periods, all geographic areas.
- Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)
Full-text extended essays not only on British people but also non-Brits. who spent time in the UK. Excellent resource for finding biographical information on artists, art historians, patrons, collectors and dealers. People still alive are excluded.
- Exhibitions of the Royal Photographic Society 1870-1915
Predominantly UK photographers, but does include some non-UK names.
- National Register of Archives
Register of archival materials in the UK. Many art-related people (e.g. artists, dealers, collectors, etc.) are covered.
- Oxford-Grove Dictionary of Art (Oxford Art Online)
Full-text extended essays (and bibliographies) on most aspects of the art world. Frequent updates. All geographical areas and all periods.
Massive union catalogue of countless libraries worldwide. Useful for finding books and archival materials beyond Oxford.