Skip to main content
National & specialist archival collections
- Accademia San Luca (Rome), c. 1590-1635
Scans, transcriptions and English-language translations of every known notary document in the Archivio di Stato (Rome), relating to the founding and early history of the Accademia di San Luca, Rome.
- Gli anni della Cupola: The Years of the Cupola (Compiled by Margaret Haines)
Online edition of the entire contents of the archive of Florence’s Opera del Duomo for the years during which Brunelleschi’s cupola was planned and constructed (1417-1436).
- Archives Directory for the History of Collecting in America (Frick Collection, New York)
Access to research resources relating to American collectors, dealers, agents and advisors, and the repositories that hold these records.
- Archives of American Art (Smithsonian Institution)
Primary source materials relating to the history of the arts (and architecture) in America, from 1620 to the present. Collections comprise artists’, architects’, galleries’, collectors’, and critics’ papers (including sketchbooks and photographs), as well as numerous oral histories (& transcripts).
- Artists’ Papers Register (UK & Ireland)
Index to the locations of the papers of artists, designers and craftspeople held in publicly accessible collections in the United Kingdom and Ireland. (NOTE: Architects’ papers are not included in the APR.)
- Getty Provenance Index Databases -- Archival Inventories (Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles)
Access to inventories and other documents from city, state, and national archives: Works of art from private collections in France, Italy, The Netherlands, and Spain. Period covered: 1550 - 1840.
- Medici Archive (Florence, Italy)
Access to the Medici Grand Ducal Archive through scans and transcriptions of original documents. Individuals can be searched according to role (e.g. actors, architects, artists, collectkors, poets, printers, patrons).
- National Gallery Archives (London, UK)
Online index to the records of the Gallery's activities from its foundation in 1824 to the present day.
- National Register of Archives (UK)
Register of archival materials in the UK. Many art-related people (e.g. artists, dealers, collectors, etc.) are covered.
- Nazi-era Provenance Portal
A searchable registry of objects in U.S. museum collections that changed hands in Continental Europe during the Nazi era (1933-1945).
Massive union catalogue of countless libraries worldwide. Useful for finding books and archival materials beyond Oxford.