Oxford LibGuides: Biomedical Sciences: Home

Finding books for biomedical sciences

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for biomedical sciences and printed books, including the main science collection in the Radcliffe Science Library. For more detailed info about our book collections visit our books page of this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for biomedical sciences below but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.

Cell (and other Cell Press journals)
Cell publishes findings of unusual significance in any area of experimental biology, including but not limited to cell biology, molecular biology, neuroscience, immunology, virology and microbiology, cancer, human genetics, systems biology, signaling, and disease mechanisms and therapeutics.
Nature
A weekly international journal publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology.
Physiological Reviews
Physiological Reviews provides state of the art coverage of timely issues in the physiological and biomedical sciences.
Science
Science seeks to publish those papers that are most influential in their fields or across fields and that will significantly advance scientific understanding.
e-Journals A-Z
A full, browsable list of ejournals available at Oxford.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for biomedical sciences below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

MEDLINE (Ovid)
MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine; Nursing; Dentistry; Veterinary medicine; Allied health; Pre-clinical sciences.
The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus,Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
The Ovid MEDLINE database contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and in 70 other countries. The database contains well over 13 million citations dating back to 1950, including more than 130,000 population-related journal citations (unique to the former POPLINE database) that were added to MEDLINE in October of 2002. Although coverage is worldwide, most records are derived from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Abstracts are included for more than 75% of the records.
PubMed
PubMed provides a publically accessible database of publications predominately focused upon biomedical sciences. Material covered in the database includes journal articles, conference proceedings, case reports, clinical trial reports and systematic reviews.
PubMed includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE as well as:
* The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
* Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
* Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
We have linked our e-Journals to PubMed. This means that when you view an article on this version of PubMed you will know whether you can read it straight away and without having to check on a different website.
Scopus
Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers over 25,000 journals and over 300,000 books from over 7,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 90 million records going back as far as the 18th century.
It includes the content from a number of other major databases: Medline (medicine) 1966 - , Embase (medicine) 1970 - , Compendex (engineering) 1970 - , Geobase (geography) 1980 - .
Web of Science
Alternative names: WoK ; WoS ; Web of Knowledge. Provides access to and cross-searching of databases in the science, technology, engineering, mathematics, medicine, social sciences and humanities. It includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Data Citation Index. Also provides access to Journal Citation Reports for sciences and social sciences.

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online databases.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.

Subject Librarian for Medical Sciences

Karine Barker

Email Me

Contact:

Radcliffe Science Library
Parks Road
Oxford
OX1 3QP

01865272802

Related guides

Pre-clinical Medicine
by Karine Barker Last Updated Feb 21, 2024 212 views this year
Systematic Reviews and Evidence Syntheses
by Carolyn Smith Last Updated Feb 21, 2024 2002 views this year
Images for Medical Sciences
by Karine Barker Last Updated Feb 29, 2024 160 views this year
Sciences for Continuing Education
by Susan Wilkin Last Updated Mar 1, 2021 20 views this year

Key libraries

Radcliffe Science Library
The Radcliffe Science Library (RSL) is Oxford University's main teaching and research science library.
The Bodleian Health Care Libraries website
Up-to-date information about the library and all services.

Biomedical Sciences: Home

Purpose of this guide