A collaboration with Yale University, the online version of The Archives of the Church in North India comprises archival material from the Gujarat Diocese of the Church of North India.
The Archival collection includes:
- Minutes of meetings, correspondence and other documents of the Irish Presbyterian Mission Council in Gujarat and relevant local committees.
- Annual reports prepared by the Irish Presbyterian Mission Council that describe the achievements of the past year, including information about the financial situation of the IP Mission from 1851 to 1965.
- Annual reports of the Missions’ Orphanage from 1870 till 1958.
A collaboration with Yale University, The Archives of the Church in North India Online comprises archival and printed material from the Gujarat Diocese of the Church of North India. The Monograph collection includes:
- Monographs printed by the Irish Presbyterian Mission Press in Surat, India.
- Monographs printed by other mission presses in India.
- Monographs printed outside India and relevant for research purposes.
Number of titles: 248
Location of originals: Gujarat United School of Theology, Ahmedabad, India.
Art Index Retrospective is an archive index chronicling over a half a century of art literature. Covering fine, decorative and commercial art, it indexes hundreds of publications, plus thousands of book reviews, interviews, anthologies and more.
This platform includes standards and technical engineering information covering a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
This resource requires you to log in with your Oxford SSO again at the homepage.
Alternative name:British Archaeological Reports Digital collection
BAR Digital contains over 3000 titles from BAR publishing. BAR Publishing offers the largest series of academic archaeology titles in the world, covering all geographic regions and time periods. The collection encompasses all periods from prehistory, through classical archaeology, to 20th century archaeology around the globe. These are presented in data rich monographs, edited collections of paper, excavation and site reports and conference proceedings.
Mammals of Africa
A 6 volume reference work describing, in detail and with colour illustrations, every currently recognized species of African land mammals. Each volume follows the same format, with detailed profiles of every species and higher taxa, and includes latest information and detailed discussion of the morphology, distribution, biology and evolution (including reference to fossil and molecular data) of Africa's mammals. Every species also includes a detailed distribution map. Extensive references alert readers to more detailed information.
Volume I: Introductory Chapters and Afrotheria
Volume II: Primates
Volume III: Rodents, Hares and Rabbits
Volume IV: Hedgehogs, Shrews and Bats
Volume V: Carnivores, Pangolins, Equids and Rhinoceroses
Volume VI: Pigs, Hippopotamuses, Chevrotain, Giraffes, Deer and Bovids
The Birds of Africa
A 8 volume reference work with encyclopaedic species text and detailed paintings and drawings of the birds. Each volume contains an Introduction with the latest developments in African ornithology, including the evolution and biogeography of African birds, diagnoses of the families and genera, descriptions of range and status, field characters, voice, general habits, food, and breeding habits. Full bibliographies, acoustic references, and indexes complete this scholarly work of reference.
Volume I: Ostriches to Birds of Prey
Volume II: Game Birds to Pigeons
Volume III: Parrots to Woodpeckers
Volume IV: Broadbills to Chats
Volume V: Thrushes to Puffback Flycatchers
Volume VI: Picathartes to Oxpeckers
Volume VII: Sparrows to Buntings
Volume VIII: Birds of Madagascar
Birds of the World is a powerful research database that brings together deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology, Birds of North America, Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds and Bird Families of the World, with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds.
An in-depth overview of Birds of the World features can be found here.
Below is a description-in-brief:,
• 10,721 species accounts
• 9 free accounts every month
• 249 bird family accounts
• 500 million+ eBird observations
• 100,000+ research citations
• 21,000 color illustrations of every species, and many subspecies
• Tens of thousands of media assets (photos, videos, and sound recordings) from the Macaulay Library
• Range maps, eBird abundance maps, and animated migration maps
• Avian taxonomy explorer
• Ongoing updates
Contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
Purchase of this resource was mostly funded by the Drue Heinz Fund.
Black Thought and Culture -a collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
*Note we do not have access to all e-books on the platform.
Until 31st August 2021, over 17,000 e-books in Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences published by Brill are available via their EBA (evidence-based acquisitions) programme. All books on the list, together with new publications as they come out during the year, are available online to University members via SOLO during this period. At the end of the period, we will make a selection of about 150 e-books based on appearance on reading lists and heavy use during the period. These selections will be added permanently to the ebook collection of the Bodleian Libraries.
Part of British Online Archives' Politics and Protest series, the resources contained within this collection chart the rise and fall of fascism in Britain during the 1930s and 1940s, with a particular focus on Oswald Mosley’s blackshirt movement.
The bulk of the documents are official BUF publications, including Fascist Week¸ The Blackshirt, The East London Pioneer, and Action. In addition, there are hundreds of government documents relating to Mosley’s internment under Defence Regulation 18B during the Second World War.
Extra username/password are required for this resource: see WebLearn for details. This resource requires you to register before use.
Process for the end-user:
Download the free version of Complete Anatomy to a compatible device
Launch the app and complete our in-app registration using your university email address.
After registration, enter the unique library activation code into the redeem code area (Open Settings, My Account) of Complete Anatomy. Your license will be unlocked.
Once unlocked, Complete Anatomy can be used on or off
campus for the duration of the institutional subscription.
Complete Anatomy is a 3D anatomy platform for learning and teaching anatomy. The platform contains over 17,000 interactive structures, including a living, beating, dissectible human heart in full 3D; radiological images in parallel with interactive 3D models; Dynamic Cross-sections, real-time Muscle Motion, Insertion & Origin mapping, Bony Surface & Landmark mapping, 12 layered systems, Nerve Tracer, Blood Supply Tracer; 22 stunning Microscopic anatomy models; over 1,500 clinical videos on Cardiology, Orthopedics, Ophthalmology, Dentistry & Fitness. It offers creative tools for virtual dissection and a set of courses by anatomical topics.
This collection examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context. It includes new work from established and up-and-coming contemporary playwrights from around the world. At completion, the collection will include 1,000 contemporary plays, from 2000 to present day.
Purchase of this resource was funded by the Drue Heinz Fund.
The collection contains correspondence addressed to Emiliano Zapata; combat reports; relations with troop commanders and officers; promotion and appointment requests; allegations of abuses committed by military personnel; applications for food, uniforms and ammunition; letters and telegrams on the transfer of prisoners. Document types include: transcripts, journals, laws and draft laws on land, drafts of circulars and manifestos by General Emiliano Zapata; and documents relating to the signing and ratification of the Plan de Ayala organizations.
Alternative name: e-Duke books Alternative name: Duke ebooks
e-Duke Books provides access to over 2,800 ebooks published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences. Key subject areas include anthropology, art history and theory, Asian studies, cultural studies, ethnic studies, film and television, gender and sexuality studies, Latin American studies, and political theory.
All books in the collection, together with new publications as they come out during 2021, are available online to University members via SOLO in 2021. At the end of the year, all 2021 publications (c.140 ebooks) will be added permanently to the ebook collection of the Bodleian Libraries.
This collection comprises documentation related to the activities of Emiliano Zapata and the Liberation Army of the South. It consists mainly of correspondence exchanged between the headquarters and the camps and regional commands. Documents include requests for economic aid; guarantees to people for jobs and food; complaints of abuses; reports, promotions, and notifications to the troops and brigades, as well as information on pay. The documentation also includes acts or proceedings on revolutionary and civil trials; correspondence with municipal or State authorities in connection with problems of land, water, control of finance, trade, etc.; and, information concerning the revolutionary Convention sovereign.
ESLORA 2.0 (September 2020) is a corpus for the study of spoken Spanish created by the Spanish Grammar Research Group at the University of Santiago de Compostela. It comprises 83 documents including 768,005 orthographic words (or 898,914 grammatical tokens). The corpus consists of spontaneous conversations and semi-structured interviews recorded in Galicia between 2007 and 2015, which were orthographically transcribed and manually aligned to the audio files. The search facility allows queries using orthographic, lexical and morphosyntactic information in combination with other phenomena included in the transcription files (word lengthening, fragmentation of words, laughs, quotes, etc.), as well as with social variables (age, gender, education, role of the speaker).
Ethnographic Video Online, Royal Anthropological Institute Teaching Edition is a curriculum-aligned collection of videos and segments curated to support the teaching of introductory anthropology courses. Each video and segment within this collection are accompanied by a teaching guide providing background information, lesson plans, and class room exercises and activities.
This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.
GBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
Coordinated through its Secretariat in Copenhagen, the GBIF network of participating countries and organizations, working through participant nodes, provides data-holding institutions around the world with common standards and open-source tools that enable them to share information about where and when species have been recorded. This knowledge derives from many sources, including everything from museum specimens collected in the 18th and 19th century to geotagged smartphone photos shared by amateur naturalists in recent days and weeks.
The GBIF network draws all these sources together through the use of data standards, such as Darwin Core, which forms the basis for the bulk of GBIF.org's index of hundreds of millions of species occurrence records. Publishers provide open access to their datasets using machine-readable Creative Commons licence designations, allowing scientists, researchers and others to apply the data in hundreds of peer-reviewed publications and policy papers each year. Many of these analyses—which cover topics from the impacts of climate change and the spread of invasive and alien pests to priorities for conservation and protected areas, food security and human health— would not be possible without this.
Instant Anatomy is an Interactive learning tool for the study of human anatomy. The tool contains diagrams, video podcasts, recorded lectures, and revision questions to help prepare for oral and written exams with the Multiple Choice Questions and Oral Exams in Anatomy. The content of the resource is divided into 5 main sections, head and neck, thorax, abdomen, upper limb and lower limb. Each section is further sub-divided by type of body part, areas/organs, vessels, nerves, joints, muscles, surface anatomy, vertebrate levels. The video podcasts section includes the additional materials, Embryology, and Easy Ways of Remembering Tricky Areas of Anatomy.
Isaiah Berlin Online functions under the auspices of the Isaiah Berlin Literary Trust. Isaiah Berlin Online aims to be a work of reference: its primary responsibility is to provide accurate information, and at its heart is a unified and searchable catalogue of Berlin's publications, broadcasts, and interviews. But the website is also meant to be an interdisciplinary gateway for anyone interested in any aspect of Berlin’s life and works. It is an educational resource, encouraging a fuller appreciation of Berlin's life, and an interest in the broad range of ideas in which he was himself interested. It hosts the Isaiah Berlin Image Database (IBID)
This collection comprises 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present. It brings together all the voices of Latin American women and presents a tool for understanding the diversity and development of Latin America through a feminine perspective.
From the National Archives at Kew, UK. Selected by Dr. Charles Tripp, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, these documents cover the political and administrative history of the modern state which has emerged from the ancient civilization of Mesopotamia. Like Series 1, this database offers conference reports, ministerial memos and diplomatic dispatches, as well as official letters of correspondence from regional leaders, press releases and arms deal reports. This collection will also appeal to those with an interest in economics, politics and peace studies.
Series 2 on Iraq covers these events:
The war in Mesopotamia and the capture of Baghdad in 1917
Introduction of the British Mandate and the installation of King Faisal in 1921
Independence and Iraq's membership in the League of Nations in 1932
Coups d’état in the 1930s and 1940s
The Baghdad pact of 1955 and the military coup of 1958 leading to the establishment of a republic
Oil concessions and the threat to Kuwait
The rise of Ba'athism and Saddam Hussein
The USSR-Iraq Treaty of Friendship in 1972
This online tool by G. M. Homsy et al. includes nearly 1,000 videos, virtual labs, and simulations on fluid mechanics. Topics cover Kinematics, Dynamics, Interfacial Phenomena, Similarity and Scaling, Boundary Layers, Turbulence and Control Volumes.
The history of Ireland in the twentieth century was dominated by the political and sectarian divide between the north and the south, leading to sustaining armed violence over several decades. These Government documents of the British administration in Northern Ireland 1921-72 (CAB/4) offer what have been described as the best continuous record of government activity and decision-making in the world, and shows "how government actually worked". The papers contained in Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 are a complete digital facsimile of the Cabinet Conclusion files of the Northern Ireland Government, filed as CAB/4 at the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI). These CAB/4 files contain a full record of every debate and transaction for the entire duration of the Stormont administration, the devolved government of Northern Ireland. Separate files exist for each Cabinet Meeting and include minutes and memoranda. The discussions and decisions reflect the wide range of problems and activities involved in making the new administration work. Topics debated and reported in just one sample year of the Troubles (1970) include: policing, arms and explosives, social need, prevention of incitement to religious hatred, army occupation of factories, road spiking, routing of Orange Day parades, dock strikes, law and order, riots, and the roles of the Ulster Defence Regiment (UDR) and the Royal Ulster Constabulary (RUC).
Drawn chiefly from the UK National Archives, including selected FO 608 files, these Foreign Office records for the first time offer an emphatic and comprehensive coverage of the various peace treaties signed at the end of the First World War. The Treaties of Versailles, Saint-Germain, Sevres, Trianon, Neuilly and Lausanne are all covered in great depth. They collectively saw to the redrawing of boundaries, the stripping back of German military might and the effective end of the Ottoman Empire. These records are supplemented by the personal papers of Robert Cecil and Arthur Balfour – held at the British Library – both of whom played prominent roles during the course of the Conference.
Explore how the Allied Powers scrambled to create a diplomatic epilogue to ‘the war to end all wars’!
Russkaia literatura (ISSN 0131-6095) is a well-known journal of literary criticism, one of the most comprehensive, reliable and authoritative resources featuring biographical information and criticism of Russian and Soviet authors in various genres.
Published since 1958 by the Institute of Russian Literature of the Russian Academy of Science (Pushkinskii Dom), this scholarly journal features numerous research papers, discussion pieces, analytical articles and critical essays concerning classical and modern writers and poets of Russia.
Security Issues Online delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history. At completion, this collection will include at completion 175 hours of video and 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches).
South and Southeast Asian Literature is a text-based collection that showcases the literary imagination and linguistic inventiveness of Asian writers as they negotiate their varied cultural identities. It comprises thousands of pages of English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present and gives rich insights to scholars of literature, anthropology, linguistics, postcolonial theory and criticism, history, politics, and culture.
Purchase of this resource was mostly funded by the Drue Heinz Fund.
Established in the aftermath of WWII in 1945, the magazine Soviet Woman proclaimed on the cover of its first issue its fundamental mission: “A magazine devoted to social and political problems, literature and art…” Published initially under the aegis of the of Soviet Women’s Anti-Fascist Committee and the Central Council of Trade Unions of the USSR, it began as a bimonthly illustrated magazine tasked with countering anti-Soviet propaganda by introducing Western audiences to the lifestyle of Soviet women, including their role in the post-WWII rebuilding of the Soviet economy, and their achievements in the arts and the sciences. The Soviet Woman digital archive contains all obtainable published issues from the very first issue, comprising more than 500 issues and over 7,500 articles.
ZHURNAL KRITIKI I LITERATUROVEDENIIA
Authoritative journal of literary criticism offering articles and roundtable transcripts dealing with problems of Russian and world literature, history and theory of literature.
In December of 1941, cinema audiences around the world—from New York to Tokyo, Amsterdam to Paris—waited expectantly for news of Pearl Harbor. World Newsreels Online, 1929–1966 lets today’s students and historians see what those audiences saw and more, by delivering more than 500 hours of newsreel content instantly.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout