Databases A-Z

Al Manhal is a full-text searchable database of scholarly and scientific publications from the Middle East, Africa and Asia giving access to hundreds of thousands of full-text searchable publications (books, peer-reviewed journals, strategic studies, academic dissertations and educational videos) from the Arab world’s leading publishers, across a diverse range of topics.

Please send feedback to Lydia Wright.

Published in Simla and Lahore, The Civil & Military Gazette stood as an unrivalled media institution, offering extraordinarily broad perspectives on South Asia during the late 19^th and 20^th centuries. This database offers access to holdings from 1876-1963 and covers British rule in India at its height, partition and the early years of the independent countries of India and Pakistan. As well as political events, the paper also cultivated and published literary talent, including Rudyard Kipling, some of whose earliest works first appeared in the Gazette.

Please send feedback to <a href="mailto:emma.mathieson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk">Emma Mathieson</a>.

The Comprehensive English-Yiddish Dictionary is a project of the League for Yiddish. Containing nearly 50,000 entries and 33,000 subentries, the Comprehensive English-Yiddish Dictionary emphasizes Yiddish as a living language that is spoken in many places around the world. This dictionary will serve all who are interested in the Yiddish language: professors, researchers, students, writers and actors, as well as those who simply want to speak Yiddish on a regular basis.

Alternative name: אַרומנעמיק ייִדיש־ענגליש װערטערבוך 

 

An online, English, version of the Dictionnaire yiddish-français by Yitskhok Niborski and Bernard Vaisbrot from Indiana University Press. It features:

• Broad coverage of Yiddish words of all origins: Hebrew-Aramaic, Slavic, and Romance as well as Germanic.
• More words, and more idiomatic usages than in previous Yiddish-English dictionaries.
• More user-friendly, without the complicated abbreviations and signs found in older works.
• Many regional and dialectal variants are included alongside standard literary Yiddish forms.

Please send feedback to Johanneke Sytsema.

This resource provides online access to a multimedia archive of primary sources which documents 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, sounds and signifiers of different youth movements. It contains over 75,000 images and photographs; recorded and transcribed oral histories, podcasts and playlists; 15,000 flyers and ephemera; and many examples of fashion, graphic design and printed publications. It illustrates Britain’s evocative subculture and counterculture, as expressed through Mods, Skins and Punks and the rave scene.

This resource is useful for the study of social and cultural history, visual culture, and more generally, the lived experience of the British youth in the 20th century.

Please send feedback to Isabel Holowaty.