The Atlantic Magazine Archive, 1857-2014, covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary. It includes more than 1,800 issues providing a broad view of 19th, 20th and early 21st-Century American thought. Originally created with a focus on publishing leading writers' commentary on abolition, education and other major issues in contemporary political affairs at the time, it has featured articles over its publication history in the fields of politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, science and more.
The Australian Education Index is a comprehensive collection of educational research documents relating to educational trends, policy, and practices. The database is produced by the Cunningham Library at the Australian Council for Educational Research and is Australia's largest source of education information. Coverage includes trends and practices in teaching, learning and educational management.
This resource requires you to register before use. This resource requires you to log in with your Oxford SSO again at the homepage.
BBC Monitoring tracks, translates, summarises and analyses local media sources around the world. It is an interdisciplinary resource, and its stated specialisms include: Russia, Eastern Europe, Middle East and North Africa, Sub Saharan Africa, Latin America, Asia, Disinformation.
Mammals of Africa
A 6 volume reference work describing, in detail and with colour illustrations, every currently recognized species of African land mammals. Each volume follows the same format, with detailed profiles of every species and higher taxa, and includes latest information and detailed discussion of the morphology, distribution, biology and evolution (including reference to fossil and molecular data) of Africa's mammals. Every species also includes a detailed distribution map. Extensive references alert readers to more detailed information.
Volume I: Introductory Chapters and Afrotheria
Volume II: Primates
Volume III: Rodents, Hares and Rabbits
Volume IV: Hedgehogs, Shrews and Bats
Volume V: Carnivores, Pangolins, Equids and Rhinoceroses
Volume VI: Pigs, Hippopotamuses, Chevrotain, Giraffes, Deer and Bovids
The Birds of Africa
A 8 volume reference work with encyclopaedic species text and detailed paintings and drawings of the birds. Each volume contains an Introduction with the latest developments in African ornithology, including the evolution and biogeography of African birds, diagnoses of the families and genera, descriptions of range and status, field characters, voice, general habits, food, and breeding habits. Full bibliographies, acoustic references, and indexes complete this scholarly work of reference.
Volume I: Ostriches to Birds of Prey
Volume II: Game Birds to Pigeons
Volume III: Parrots to Woodpeckers
Volume IV: Broadbills to Chats
Volume V: Thrushes to Puffback Flycatchers
Volume VI: Picathartes to Oxpeckers
Volume VII: Sparrows to Buntings
Volume VIII: Birds of Madagascar
The Early Modern History Archive draws on a wealth of titles published between 1971 and 2013 in this area of study. This includes three titles on Elizabethan history by Patrick Collinson, Panikos Panayi’s Germans in Britain Since 1500, and Eamon Duffy’s Saints, Sacrilege and Sedition.
This collection is particularly relevant to historians of British constitutional, political, religious, social and cultural history.
*Note we do not have access to all e-books on the platform.
Until 31st August 2021, over 17,000 e-books in Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences published by Brill are available via their EBA (evidence-based acquisitions) programme. All books on the list, together with new publications as they come out during the year, are available online to University members via SOLO during this period. At the end of the period, we will make a selection of about 150 e-books based on appearance on reading lists and heavy use during the period. These selections will be added permanently to the ebook collection of the Bodleian Libraries.
Extra username/password are required for this resource: see WebLearn for details. This resource requires you to register before use.
Process for the end-user:
Download the free version of Complete Anatomy to a compatible device
Launch the app and complete our in-app registration using your university email address.
After registration, enter the unique library activation code into the redeem code area (Open Settings, My Account) of Complete Anatomy. Your license will be unlocked.
Once unlocked, Complete Anatomy can be used on or off
campus for the duration of the institutional subscription.
Complete Anatomy is a 3D anatomy platform for learning and teaching anatomy. The platform contains over 17,000 interactive structures, including a living, beating, dissectible human heart in full 3D; radiological images in parallel with interactive 3D models; Dynamic Cross-sections, real-time Muscle Motion, Insertion & Origin mapping, Bony Surface & Landmark mapping, 12 layered systems, Nerve Tracer, Blood Supply Tracer; 22 stunning Microscopic anatomy models; over 1,500 clinical videos on Cardiology, Orthopedics, Ophthalmology, Dentistry & Fitness. It offers creative tools for virtual dissection and a set of courses by anatomical topics.
雕龙中日古籍全文资料库Diaolong Database of Chinese & Japanese Pre-Modern Books – Provides full-text access to almost 30,000 pre-modern Chinese and Japanese titles covering history, politics, economy, religion, philosophy, literature, ethnography and geography. It includes collected works such as 方志丛书 (China local gazetteer series), 四库全书 (Classified collection of complete works) , Japanese Pre-Modern Books and Qing Dynasty archives.
Alternative name: e-Duke books Alternative name: Duke ebooks
e-Duke Books provides access to over 2,800 ebooks published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences. Key subject areas include anthropology, art history and theory, Asian studies, cultural studies, ethnic studies, film and television, gender and sexuality studies, Latin American studies, and political theory.
All books in the collection, together with new publications as they come out during 2021, are available online to University members via SOLO in 2021. At the end of the year, all 2021 publications (c.140 ebooks) will be added permanently to the ebook collection of the Bodleian Libraries.
ESLORA 2.0 (September 2020) is a corpus for the study of spoken Spanish created by the Spanish Grammar Research Group at the University of Santiago de Compostela. It comprises 83 documents including 768,005 orthographic words (or 898,914 grammatical tokens). The corpus consists of spontaneous conversations and semi-structured interviews recorded in Galicia between 2007 and 2015, which were orthographically transcribed and manually aligned to the audio files. The search facility allows queries using orthographic, lexical and morphosyntactic information in combination with other phenomena included in the transcription files (word lengthening, fragmentation of words, laughs, quotes, etc.), as well as with social variables (age, gender, education, role of the speaker).
Ethnographic Video Online, Royal Anthropological Institute Teaching Edition is a curriculum-aligned collection of videos and segments curated to support the teaching of introductory anthropology courses. Each video and segment within this collection are accompanied by a teaching guide providing background information, lesson plans, and class room exercises and activities.
A new text edition of the Byzantine scholar and rhetorician Eustathius of Thessalonica’s Commentary on the Odyssey, composed during the latter half of the twelfth century CE, and a modern, English translation of the Commentary. The Commentary collects material from a wide range of different sources which explain or expand on words, phrases and ideas in the Homeric epic. Original comments are blended with extracts from earlier commentators, especially the Homeric scholia. The text is an important source for fragments of otherwise lost works of ancient literature, for the history of exegesis and lexicography, and for Byzantine cultural history. This is the first complete critical edition of the text, and the first translation of it into a modern language. Eric Cullhed (University of Uppsala) and S. Douglas Olson (University of Minnesota) offer an up-to-date standard text, critical, citation and source apparatus, and English translation. The preface and the commentary on books one through four are now available. Two further books will be added annually. The expected date of completion is 2030.
Global Newsstream contains full text articles from over 3,000 news sources, providing current coverage from many sources as well as archives extending back to the 1980s. Included are a number of key UK, US and international titles such as the Guardian, The New York Times, El Mundo and Le Monde.
Global Newsstream’s coverage of Le Monde from 2011 to the present complements ProQuest’s historical archive of Le Monde from 1944 to 2000. As both databases are on the ProQuest platform the two databases are cross-searchable. The trial of Global Newsstream will run for the same time as the trial of Le Monde (Historical archive) until 19 May 2021. Please note that as only 25% of the historical archive of Le Monde is available for the current trial; there will be another trial of both databases in September 2021 (when the Le Monde historical archive database will be complete). Please send any feedback re the current trial to Nick Hearn: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970—offers the widest range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states. Additional value has been by the expansion from the original 562 National Archives records to over 17,000, thus substantially improving access to over 138,000 pages documenting the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict. Some of the topics covered include the British capture of Jerusalem, the milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948, Jewish terror groups, the background to the establishment of the State of Israel as a Jewish national home, the Border wars of the 1950s, formation of the United Arab Republic, the Cold War in the Middle East and Black September.
The elite military journal known in Russia as Voennaia Mysl’ was founded in 1918 and has been classified for nearly 70 years. Since 1992, East View has published the English translation of this journal as Military Thought. A unique source of information on the development of Russian military theory, Military Thought offers articles on Russian military reform, tactics and strategy of modern combat, and counterterrorist and security operations.
Please send feedback about the trial to Angelina Gibson (email@example.com)
This online tool by G. M. Homsy et al. includes nearly 1,000 videos, virtual labs, and simulations on fluid mechanics. Topics cover Kinematics, Dynamics, Interfacial Phenomena, Similarity and Scaling, Boundary Layers, Turbulence and Control Volumes.
The historical archive of Le Monde – one of the newspapers of record for France – is now available in full-page digital image format from Proquest. The period covered is from the foundation of Le Monde in 1944 up to 2000. It should be noted that only 25% of the content of this database is currently available. It is cross-searchable with Global Newsstream (also a ProQuest product) which covers Le Monde from 2011 up to the present (and also includes a range of other key UK, US and other international newspapers). The Bodleian Libraries trial will end on 19 May. Another trial of both databases will be held in September 2021 when the Le Monde historical archive will be complete. Please send any feedback re the current trial to Nick Hearn: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Royal Geographical Society, 1478-1953, History of Geography, Colonization and Climate Science in the British Empire, by Wiley Digital Archives
The Royal Geographical Society (RGS) covers history of geography
exploration, colonization and de-colonization, anthropology, law, climate science, gender studies, cartography, and environmental history throughout the British Empire from ~1478 to 1953. The archive contains manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, proceedings, maps, charts, atlases, photographs, surveys, data and ephemera, all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives program.
Russkaia literatura (ISSN 0131-6095) is a well-known journal of literary criticism, one of the most comprehensive, reliable and authoritative resources featuring biographical information and criticism of Russian and Soviet authors in various genres.
Published since 1958 by the Institute of Russian Literature of the Russian Academy of Science (Pushkinskii Dom), this scholarly journal features numerous research papers, discussion pieces, analytical articles and critical essays concerning classical and modern writers and poets of Russia.
Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice.
In addition to the primary source documents there is a wealth of useful secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography.
Established in the aftermath of WWII in 1945, the magazine Soviet Woman proclaimed on the cover of its first issue its fundamental mission: “A magazine devoted to social and political problems, literature and art…” Published initially under the aegis of the of Soviet Women’s Anti-Fascist Committee and the Central Council of Trade Unions of the USSR, it began as a bimonthly illustrated magazine tasked with countering anti-Soviet propaganda by introducing Western audiences to the lifestyle of Soviet women, including their role in the post-WWII rebuilding of the Soviet economy, and their achievements in the arts and the sciences. The Soviet Woman digital archive contains all obtainable published issues from the very first issue, comprising more than 500 issues and over 7,500 articles.
Access to over 40,000 e-books published by Springer Nature in all subject areas from 2018-2021. This includes Palgrave Macmillan, but not titles categorised by Springer as Reference or Textbook. At the end of the subscription period, the libraries will select a number of e-books based on heavy use during the period. These selections will be added permanently to the ebook collection of the Bodleian Libraries.
Please note that we do not have access to all content on the SpringerLink platform.
Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1st January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times with its own remit and perspective on the news.
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000. Focused on conveying to a broad audience both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects, the Time Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture.
ZHURNAL KRITIKI I LITERATUROVEDENIIA
Authoritative journal of literary criticism offering articles and roundtable transcripts dealing with problems of Russian and world literature, history and theory of literature.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout