Find the best library databases for your research.
Loading...
LIVE CHAT (click to open)
Chat to a librarian:
Use of Oxford e-resources
Oxford subscribes to a wide range of e-resources, e-journals and
e-books to support your research and study. Use of these is governed
strictly by licence agreements.
Remember:
E-resources may be used for study and research but NOT for
commercial purposes
You may NOT share your password or pass content from e-resources
to anyone else
Systematic downloading or viewing of excessive amounts of data
is strictly forbidden
Failure to comply may result in:
Referral to the University Proctors
Publishers withdrawing content from the whole university
Dar al-Mandumah provides access to a series of databases with full-text content of Arabic scientific conferences, dissertations, and academic journals from 1921 to present day. Content is mainly in Arabic and English. The databases included are:
• EduSearch (education)
• HumanIndex (humanities)
• IslamicInfo (Islamic studies and Islamic law)
• AraBase (language and literature)
• EcoLink (economic and management studies)
• Mandumah Dissertations
ArabDigest is a source of information and political analysis on current events in the Middle East and North Africa. Arab Digest members have access to articles and podcasts containing a mix of material drawn from a wide range of published sources together with original input from the editor and Arab Digest’s high-level network. Members have the option to sign up to receive the daily newsletter and podcasts direct to their emails or can access them at any time via the website.
Eastern European Newspaper Archive, containing scientific and professional journals, weekly and daily newspapers, encyclopaedias, and thematic book collections.
The international and interdisciplinary Augustine Lexicon (AL) provides a comprehensive presentation of the life and thought, the writings and the contemporary context of the North African rhetor, philosopher and, in terms of his history, probably the most important theologian, Augustine of Hippo (354–430). The lexicon, written with the collaboration of internationally recognized Augustine specialists from various scientific disciplines, contains around 1,100 lemmas. It uses only Latin keywords taken from Augustine's language and quotes important Augustine texts verbatim. The articles appear in German, English or French and contain detailed bibliographies. The contents of the volumes that have already been completed are now available as a database. The last outstanding volumes will be published online on release.
The Augustinus Lexikon, the Corpus Augustinianum Gissense and the database of Augustine secondary literature are linked to one another on the platform
Access is currently granted by IP recognition. Use VPN for off-site access.
The 3rd version of the Corpus Augustinianum Gissense a Cornelio Mayer editum (CAG 3 = CAG-online) consists of the writings, sermons and letters of the philosopher and theologian Augustine of Hippo (354-430). CAG-online is edited by Augustinian researcher and founder of the Augustinus-Lexikon, Cornelius Petrus Mayer.
The Augustinus Lexikon, the Corpus Augustinianum Gissense and the database of Augustine secondary literature are linked to one another on the platform
Access is currently granted via IP recognition. Use VPN for off-site access. When navigating to the site, you will see a login page with the pre-populated credentials in place. From here, click on Anmelden/Login to proceed.
This collection of ephemera (brochures, clothing items, booklets, flyers, etc.) offers important insights into LGBTQ activism in Eastern Europe and the Balkans in the past decade. It includes 140 items (more than 2,000 pages) of valuable research materials collected by East View in Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland and Serbia.
Education Magazine Archive provides access to the digitized backfiles of 26 major magazines and trade publications in the field of education, dating from the early 20th century through to the 21st.
Every issue of each title, from the first through to 2015, is scanned in color, with fully searchable text. All articles are separately indexed to allow for easy searching and navigability.
Included each issue from the first through to 2015 and to scan from cover to cover. Due to the rarity of some of the original print volumes, however, there are small gaps (issues or pages) in the runs of some publications.
This resource requires you to register before use using your *.ox.ac.uk email address. Please do not use your Oxford SSO username or password to register.
Klassiki is a video-on-demand platform which is dedicated exclusively to cinema from Eastern Europe – including Ukraine, Russia, and the Baltics – the Caucasus and Central Asia. Klassiki features a library of over 100 titles, spanning silent cinema to the 2020s, a film Pick of the Week feature, and a Journal area of related content including interviews, essays and national cinema overviews. A potentially useful resource to students of film, visual culture and modern languages.
LexiQamus is an aggregator for all major dictionaries of Ottoman Turkish matching the given restrictions. With LexiQamus, you can find a word with missing or unclear letters almost immediately, a task that would have been almost impossible with a regular dictionary. (https://www.lexiqamus.com/en)
Le Monde is one of the newspapers of record for France. The newspaper website is available in French and English versions, which can be selected at the top of the page.
This resource requires you to log in with your Oxford SSO again at the homepage. This resource requires you to register before use.
The National Tree Map dataset is accessed through Ordnance Survey Digimap (OS Digimap). Open OS Digimap and use the Overlays or Download Data option.
National Tree Map™ (NTM) covers England, Scotland and Wales and provides location, height and canopy extents for individual trees over three metres in height. The dataset comprises:
Canopy Polygons (Vector Polygon) – representing individual trees or closely-grouped tree crowns
Idealised Crowns (Vector Polygon) – crown polygons visualised as circles for ease of use. Area measurement remains true to original canopy feature
Height points (Vector Point) – the centre point and height of each canopy feature
Explore the archives of the East German daily newspaper Neues Deutschland, spanning 1946-1990. Uncover key events, and dive into a wealth of knowledge spanning politics, culture, and society.
The username and password required to access the data in this form is provided on the Username and password webpage (requires your single-sign-on credentials).
Due to the 3-user access limit, please ensure you log out after each session.
Please note: Mac users - If you experience an issue accessing full text content, please click on the "Text" icon located in the bottom right.
Noor Digital Library (Noorlib) is a full-text e-book database administered by the Computer Research Center of Islamic Sciences (CRCIS) in Iran. Noor Digital Library contains more than 88000 digitised book volumes from within the humanities, mostly in Arabic and Persian, with a particular focus on Islamic Studies.
Noormags is a journal database administered by the Computer Research Center of Islamic Sciences (CRCIS) in Iran. Noormags offers digitized versions of specialized journals concerning Islamic studies, social sciences and the humanities. The extensive text-image database has become one of the most important databases for academic texts in Persian, also featuring content in Arabic and English.
Source: U.S. National Archives
Date Range: 1945-1959
This archive traces the period that saw the end of the British mandate in Palestine. Documents address the role of the Security Council and General Assembly of the United Nations and that of the United States in the creation of the state of Israel. Included here are the Palestine Reference files of Dean Rusk and Robert McClintock, as well as documents from the Mission of the United States in Tel-Aviv. The years 1955-1959 contain instructions and correspondences of the U.S. Department of State. Most of the State Department’s internal documentation as well as correspondence between the State Department and other federal departments and agencies, in addition to documents from private individuals and organizations, are included in the central files. Documents types comprise official and unofficial correspondence, inquiries, memoranda, situation reports and studies, special reports, and telegrams. The files offer insight into a range of subjects including the politics, laws, military, economy, industry, natural resources, public works, and media of Palestine and Israel. The documents in this collection are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.
PapyGreek project facilitates the study of existing digital corpus of Greek documentary papyri so that it yields to computational linguistic methods. This transformation project serves Greek and general historical linguistics, as well as students of papyrology and related fields.
The Complete Bioscience Collection provides students with access to around 100 bioscience titles, facilitating a rounded and complete study of undergraduate bioscience.
The Complete Chemistry Collection encourages broader reading, providing access to all the textbooks students need to engage with course content at a deeper level and succeed in their undergraduate studies.
Trade in Early Modern: London Livery Company Records, 1450-1750
This resource is useful for the study of the history of early modern London through the lens of the livery companies and trade. It provides access to the various livery companies records, providing a unique overview of trade in early modern London over a key three-hundred year period. They are also a useful commentary on pivotal events such as the Reformation, the Civil War, the Great Plague, and the Great Fire of London.
Livery companies evolved from London’s medieval guilds, becoming corporations under royal charter responsible for training in their respective trades, as well as for the regulation of aspects such as wage control, labour conditions, and industry standards. The companies’ rich and varied records document the central role that these institutions played in the economic, political, social, and cultural life of the city.
