Databases A-Z

The Associates of Dr. Bray was a group comprised of English clergymen and philanthropists who created and funded schools for Black, and to a lesser extent, Indigenous North American, children in the American Colonies between 1758 and 1776. Their aim was not only to educate, but also to Christianise their pupils. This collection contains correspondence files, minute books, and financial reports compiled by the Associates during the period 1724-1900. It also includes some relevant documents that pre-date the organisation itself. The impact that Bray's schools had cannot be overstated. His were some of the first schools tasked with eradicating indigenous cultures and replacing them with Christian doctrines. They were founded on the principles of fearing for the souls of their pupils, but seemingly cared little for their freedom from enslavement, nor for their religious or cultural autonomy.

This collection is part of the archive of the United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG), formerly the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). It was curated in association with the Bodleian Library.

This collection contains first-hand accounts by missionaries attached to the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (SPG) both during peacetime and the turmoil of the World Wars. This collection largely pertains to SPG missionaries' experience of Japanese expansionism during the Second World War. Missionaries had a range of penal punishments brought against them, including internment, house arrest, and assignment to work camps. Others attached to the SPG fled their assigned countries by any means necessary. This collection provides both personal Missionary experiences and accounts, as well as material on how the SPG as an organisation dealt with the situations it encountered. The main focus of the collection is Japan, Burma (modern day Myanmar), China, Singapore, and Malaysia.

The Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (SPG) later became the United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG). This collection was curated in association with the Bodleian Library.

The United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG) is a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates around the world. During the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries, the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG).

This collection was curated in association with the Bodleian Library and contains letters and supplementary material compiled by its North American branch during the period 1635–1928. The papers therefore provide students and historians with a unique insight into the evolution of Christianity in the American colonies, the United States, and Canada but additionally includes activities in the Gold Coast and Australia. This collection is accompanied by an online guide written by Isobel Pridmore, formerly the archivist at the USPG, whose archives are now held in the Bodleian Libraries Special Collections.

This collection contains records compiled by the United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG), a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates around the world. From the 18th to the early-20th century, the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). It was curated in association with the Bodleian Library.

In 1783 the British Government sent 1,500 people on a fleet of 11 ships, now known as the First Fleet, to establish a penal colony in New South Wales. The first missionaries from the SPG arrived a decade later in 1793. In the generations since the arrival of the mission, Christianity has become the main religion practised in Australia. This collection includes letters, journals and supplementary material composed by the SPG’s Australian branches during the period 1808-1967. These documents contain reports on the progress of the mission, relations with the indigenous people, the passage to Australia, and insights into how monetary grants were spent. The papers provide an unparalleled insight into the establishment and subsequent development of the Church of Australia.

The United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG) is a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates around the world. During the 18th, 19th, and early-20th centuries, the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). This collection, curated in association with the Bodleian Library, includes letters and supplementary material compiled by its Canadian branch during the period 1722-1952. The documents detail the day-to-day activities of SPG missionaries, including their work in churches, schools, and indigenous communities. The collection provides students and scholars with a unique overview of British colonial and Canadian history.

The United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG) is a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates around the world. During the 18th, 19th, and early-20th centuries, the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). This collection covers the period 1701-1870 and contains the organisation’s founding documents, in-house journal, annual sermons, and reports. These documents provide a fascinating insight into the relationship between colonisers and the colonised. This collection was curated in association with the Bodleian Library.

The United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG) is a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates globally. From the eighteenth to the early twentieth century the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). This collection was curated in association with the Bodleian Library.

In 1866 the SPG established a semi-autonomous body, the Ladies' Association for the Promotion of Female Education in India and other Heathen Countries. In 1895 this became the Womens' Missionary Association for the Promotion of Female Education in the Missions of the SPG. The SPG later established a Committee for Women's Work in 1904. These organisations gave women the opportunity to train and work as missionaries, at a time when female education was highly restricted and controversial. The missionaries largely focused on educating and converting women to Christianity, although they did teach and convert others too. This collection includes documents from these organisations, including minutes of main and sub-committees, candidates' books, letters received and sent, and reports.

This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative 'map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns' in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial." From the collections of Western Reserve Historical Society.

Free access to judgments and decisions of United Kingdom courts and tribunals. As of June 2023 coverage is of decisions from the superior courts of record – the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, the High Court, and the Upper Tribunals – and from 2003 onwards. The decisions are provided in the form of transcripts of judgments only: they do not include arguments of counsel nor headnotes. Holders of an Oxford SSO are reminded that Westlaw Edge UK, Lexis + UK and i-law are the subscription databases which provide them with published reports of UK judgments.

This collection contains records compiled by the United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG), a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates globally. From the eighteenth to the early twentieth century the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). This collection was curated in association with the Bodleian Library.

The SPG’s mission was established at Cape Coast Castle in 1752 by Rev. Thomas Thompson. Thompson was succeeded by Rev. Philip Quaque, the first African to be ordained a priest of the Church of England. The mid-nineteenth century saw a revival of Anglican missionary activity with the arrival of missionaries sent by the Mission of the West Indian Church to West Africa, an organisation that was based in Barbados. This collection contains letters, reports, and supplementary material relating to missionaries who worked in Ghana throughout the period 1886–1951. These documents contain a wealth of information, especially with regard to the spread of English education and to the introduction of education for women.

GlobalData Explorer is a source for market research reports, analytics, products, and cities across an array of industries. Profiling major companies, industries, and geographies. Emphasis is on major industry sectors.

This collection contains records compiled by the United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG), a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates globally. From the eighteenth to the early twentieth century the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). This collection was curated in association with the Bodleian Library.

This collection includes letters, reports, and supplementary material compiled by its Indian and Sri Lankan branches during the period 1770–1931. It contains the correspondence left by Rev. Christian David who became the first Indian ordained into the Anglican priesthood. It also includes annual diocesan reports from across India and Sri Lanka. The standardised structure of these reports enables the progress and reach of each mission to be tracked over time. These papers allow students and researchers to survey the spread of Christianity in South Asia, life under the British Raj, and the causes and impact of the partition of India.

This collection contains records compiled by the United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG), a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates globally. From the eighteenth to the early twentieth century the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). This collection was curated in association with the Bodleian Library.

This collection contains letters and supplementary material compiled by the organisation’s West African branches during the period 1700–1850. It includes the papers of Thomas Perronet Thompson, the first governor of the Colony of Sierra Leone, and those of Rev. Phillip Quaque, the first African to be ordained a minister of the Church of England. Indeed, the collection contains a variety of sources that evidence the continuation of the slave trade. There is also material on the influential Rio Pongas mission conducted by the West Indian Church. The documents in this collection grant insights into the nature of British colonialism, the process of Christian conversion, and the functioning of the slave trade in West Africa.

LexiQamus is an aggregator for all major dictionaries of Ottoman Turkish matching the given restrictions. With LexiQamus, you can find a word with missing or unclear letters almost immediately, a task that would have been almost impossible with a regular dictionary. (https://www.lexiqamus.com/en)

This collection contains records compiled by the United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG), a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates globally. From the eighteenth to the early twentieth century the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). This collection was curated in association with the Bodleian Library.

Anglican missionaries first arrived in New Zealand and Polynesia in the seventeenth century. Their mission was to spread the gospel to the indigenous Māori and Polynesian people. The arrival of Europeans disrupted traditional ways of life. This collection includes letters, journals, and supplementary material composed by the SPG’s New Zealand and Polynesian branches during the period 1838–1958. These documents contain a wealth of information, including: progress of the mission, relations with the indigenous Polynesians, the geography of the land, and insights into how monetary grants were spent.

Sinica Sinoweb is the full text searchable database from Taiwan. It collects fourteen core sinological journals of Academia Sinica (including the Institute of History and Philology and the Institute of Modern History), and other outstanding Taiwanese journals known worldwide. From the first issue to the present, the collection is exclusively intact, especially on the early rare issues/articles. 

South Africa in Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1819-1900 was curated in association with the Bodleian Library. This collection contains records compiled by the United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG), a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates globally. From the eighteenth to the early twentieth century, the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG).

This collection contains letters and supplementary material relating to missionaries in South Africa during the period 1819-1900. These documents contain a wealth of information, including: the progress of the mission; financial concerns; movements of people; and numbers of people who attended church. The papers therefore provide students and academics with a unique insight into the evolution of the SPG and of Christianity in South Africa.

Alternative name: South Asian Newspapers, 1864-1922
Online access to a select group of South Asian newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries, including such titles as Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Kayasare Hinda (Bombay), Pioneer (Allahabad, India), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).

The Universities’ Mission to Central Africa (UMCA) was an Anglican missionary society established in the late 1850s. In 1965 the UMCA merged with the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (SPG) to form the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (USPG). This collection was curated in association with the Bodleian Library.

It contains documents relating to the UMCA’s activities in Tanzania and Malawi during the period 1857–1965. The papers provide insights into the spread of Christianity in Central Africa through the personal accounts of missionaries, details of their competition with Muslim missionaries, and the process of translating the holy word into Swahili. Personal journals of Bishops show how missionaries tried to form connections with people in Tanzania and Malawi and the records include the names of some individuals who converted to Christianity. There is also evidence of the mistreatment of native peoples under both British and German rule and the resistance to missionaries, seen in accounts of the Masasi Disaster. Slavery was still prevalent and there are numerous examples of this in the collection, as well as suggestions for how to treat both wives and enslaved women.

The West Indies in Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1704-1950 was curated in association with the Bodleian Library. It contains records compiled by the United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG), a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates around the world. From the eighteenth to the early twentieth century, the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). This collection contains letters, reports, and supplementary material relating to missionaries in the West Indies during the period 1704-1950.

This collection tracks a shift in the SPG’s purpose. Originally, as the owners of enslaved people, the SPG shifted into missionary work, focusing on spreading the gospel to the recently emancipated. The collection highlights the injustices generated by this form of evangelism, as the society received a charitable gift in the form of Codrington College to educate black children. Yet, this funding was instead used as a source of private income and for a school for white children. It took more than a century before black children were educated at this school.

This collection traces the path of women’s issues in the 19th and 20th centuries, drawing on primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights. It focusses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women, the pioneers of women’s movements, and is useful to understand the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society.

Topics covered include the History of Feminist Theory and Activism; domestic culture; lay and ordained church women; women in industry; women's sexuality and gender expression; women’s education; women’s movement; women’s health and mental health; women and law; women and the control of their bodies; and women’s roles and interactions within society.

The sources comes from the New York Public Library, The National Women’s History Project, the London School of Economics Women's Library, and many more.