Find the best library databases for your research.
Loading...
LIVE CHAT (click to open)
Chat to a librarian:
Use of Oxford e-resources
Oxford subscribes to a wide range of e-resources, e-journals and
e-books to support your research and study. Use of these is governed
strictly by licence agreements.
Remember:
E-resources may be used for study and research but NOT for
commercial purposes
You may NOT share your password or pass content from e-resources
to anyone else
Systematic downloading or viewing of excessive amounts of data
is strictly forbidden
Failure to comply may result in:
Referral to the University Proctors
Publishers withdrawing content from the whole university
Dar al-Mandumah provides access to a series of databases with full-text content of Arabic scientific conferences, dissertations, and academic journals from 1921 to present day. Content is mainly in Arabic and English. The databases included are:
• EduSearch (education)
• HumanIndex (humanities)
• IslamicInfo (Islamic studies and Islamic law)
• AraBase (language and literature)
• EcoLink (economic and management studies)
• Mandumah Dissertations
ArabDigest is a source of information and political analysis on current events in the Middle East and North Africa. Arab Digest members have access to articles and podcasts containing a mix of material drawn from a wide range of published sources together with original input from the editor and Arab Digest’s high-level network. Members have the option to sign up to receive the daily newsletter and podcasts direct to their emails or can access them at any time via the website.
Eastern European Newspaper Archive, containing scientific and professional journals, weekly and daily newspapers, encyclopaedias, and thematic book collections.
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
An extensive reference work containing up-to-date biographical information on more than 1.2 million artists. It contains biographical information on artists and entries on communities of visual artists from all over the world and from all eras. It covers all genres of fine arts, painting, graphics, sculpture, architecture, photography, video, installation art, and more.
Replaces the former De Gruyter database Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon: International Database of Artists.
The ASM Handbooks are a comprehensive series on materials science and engineering, covering topics like metals, alloys, heat treatment, and failure analysis. Each volume focuses on specific properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials.
This resource requires you to register before use.
The Construction Information Service (CIS) is an online platform that provides access to a vast database of essential technical documents, standards, regulations, and guidance for the construction and building industries. It includes a comprehensive collection of over 28,000 industry-related publications from around 400 publishers.
This collection of ephemera (brochures, clothing items, booklets, flyers, etc.) offers important insights into LGBTQ activism in Eastern Europe and the Balkans in the past decade. It includes 140 items (more than 2,000 pages) of valuable research materials collected by East View in Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland and Serbia.
Education Magazine Archive provides access to the digitized backfiles of 26 major magazines and trade publications in the field of education, dating from the early 20th century through to the 21st.
Every issue of each title, from the first through to 2015, is scanned in color, with fully searchable text. All articles are separately indexed to allow for easy searching and navigability.
Included each issue from the first through to 2015 and to scan from cover to cover. Due to the rarity of some of the original print volumes, however, there are small gaps (issues or pages) in the runs of some publications.
This research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Content includes full-text articles from academic journals, government agency reports (provided by HeinOnline), alongside articles, primary sources and speeches (provided by BlackPast). Collections provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
Published in three parts, this collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952, shedding light on Anglo-Japanese ties in a time of shifting alliances. This second module covers the Occupation period (1946-1952). Following surrender at the end of the Second World War, Japan was occupied by Allied Powers for the first time in its history. The files for this period offer a British perspective on the creation of a democratic state in Japan and the enforcement of a new constitution. They include key British communications and reports covering topics such as war crime trials, reparations, and Japan’s economic recovery. They conclude in 1952, the year the Treaty of San Francisco normalised Anglo-Japanese relations and the first post-war British Ambassador to Japan, Esler Dening, was appointed. The majority of documents in this section are sourced from FO 371, with a smaller number from FO 262.
This resource requires you to log in with your Oxford SSO.
No part of ICRG-Table 3B may be duplicated in hardcopy or machine-readable form without prior written authorization from PRS Group. You may download and copy the file for study and research but NOT for commercial purposes.
The Researchers’ Dataset Table 3B provides annual averages of the 12 components of Political Risk Rating, as published in the International Country Risk Guide [ICRG]. Average ratings are provided for all countries covered by the ICRG from 1984 until the latest full calendar year.
This resource requires you to register before use using your *.ox.ac.uk email address. Please do not use your Oxford SSO username or password to register.
Klassiki is a video-on-demand platform which is dedicated exclusively to cinema from Eastern Europe – including Ukraine, Russia, and the Baltics – the Caucasus and Central Asia. Klassiki features a library of over 100 titles, spanning silent cinema to the 2020s, a film Pick of the Week feature, and a Journal area of related content including interviews, essays and national cinema overviews. A potentially useful resource to students of film, visual culture and modern languages.
LexiQamus is an aggregator for all major dictionaries of Ottoman Turkish matching the given restrictions. With LexiQamus, you can find a word with missing or unclear letters almost immediately, a task that would have been almost impossible with a regular dictionary. (https://www.lexiqamus.com/en)
Le Monde is one of the newspapers of record for France. The newspaper website is available in French and English versions, which can be selected at the top of the page.
Please note: Mac users - If you experience an issue accessing full text content, please click on the "Text" icon located in the bottom right.
Noor Digital Library (Noorlib) is a full-text e-book database administered by the Computer Research Center of Islamic Sciences (CRCIS) in Iran. Noor Digital Library contains more than 88000 digitised book volumes from within the humanities, mostly in Arabic and Persian, with a particular focus on Islamic Studies.
Noormags is a journal database administered by the Computer Research Center of Islamic Sciences (CRCIS) in Iran. Noormags offers digitized versions of specialized journals concerning Islamic studies, social sciences and the humanities. The extensive text-image database has become one of the most important databases for academic texts in Persian, also featuring content in Arabic and English.
Source: U.S. National Archives
Date Range: 1945-1959
This archive traces the period that saw the end of the British mandate in Palestine. Documents address the role of the Security Council and General Assembly of the United Nations and that of the United States in the creation of the state of Israel. Included here are the Palestine Reference files of Dean Rusk and Robert McClintock, as well as documents from the Mission of the United States in Tel-Aviv. The years 1955-1959 contain instructions and correspondences of the U.S. Department of State. Most of the State Department’s internal documentation as well as correspondence between the State Department and other federal departments and agencies, in addition to documents from private individuals and organizations, are included in the central files. Documents types comprise official and unofficial correspondence, inquiries, memoranda, situation reports and studies, special reports, and telegrams. The files offer insight into a range of subjects including the politics, laws, military, economy, industry, natural resources, public works, and media of Palestine and Israel. The documents in this collection are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.
The Complete Bioscience Collection provides students with access to around 100 bioscience titles, facilitating a rounded and complete study of undergraduate bioscience.
The Complete Chemistry Collection encourages broader reading, providing access to all the textbooks students need to engage with course content at a deeper level and succeed in their undergraduate studies.
Access to over 2,000 ebooks in Earth and Environmental Sciences published by Springer Nature from 2021 to 2024. This collection covers topics relevant to Earth Sciences, Oceanography, Geography, Environmental Sciences, and more. This will include new publications as they come out during 2024. Individual e-books are listed in SOLO.
At the end of the access period, we will select books based on appearance on reading lists and heavy use during the period. These selections will be added permanently to the e-book collection of the Bodleian Libraries.
Access to over 1,700 ebooks in Mathematics and Statistics published by Springer Nature from 2021 to 2024. This will include new publications as they come out during 2024. Individual e-books are listed in SOLO.
At the end of the access period, we will select books based on appearance on reading lists and heavy use during the period. These selections will be added permanently to the e-book collection of the Bodleian Libraries.
TDM Studio is a text and data mining tool created by ProQuest. It allows programmatic analysis of published content from the millions of pages of news and scholarly publications provided through current university ProQuest subscriptions. These are listed under ‘Vendor/Provider’ in the Database A-Z.
Two ways of working are provided:
1-the Visualization Dashboard is designed for users of all levels and includes Topic Modelling, Geographic Analysis and Sentiment Analysis
2-the Workbench Dashboard is designed for experienced users and works within a Jupyter Notebook environment, allowing the creation of a text corpus or dataset in minutes. This dashboard is aimed at researchers familiar with coding in Python, R or similar.
Registering for TDM Studio
Anyone with a valid University of Oxford email address can request access to TDM Studio. To request an account and workbench, please fill out this form. By default, each workbench can support 1-5 users.
The Znamia Digital Archive gives us full access to all issues of Znamia from 1931 up until the end of 2023 and therefore includes issues not previously available to us, as our printed issues only go back to 1944. Znamia is an important literary journal featuring the work of many preeminent authors. The journal came to prominence during perestroika, for which it became a standard-bearer.
