How to use the guide
This guide includes information about and links to US government publications held in Oxford (mostly in the Vere Harmsworth Library) and available online, both for current and historic information.
Use the tabs above to navigate, or click on the links below to view sources.
Legislative/Congressional Resources
Executive/Presidency Resources
Comments (0)
Search SOLO
Key resources and finding aids - general
- FDSysUS Government Printing Office online access to government information. Collects and archives publications from all three branches of government. Many are available back to the mid-1990s.
- GPO AccessPredecessor to FDSys. Some content is not yet migrated so worth checking GPO Access too.
- HeinOnline [Oxford users only]Contains the full text of many US government publications, both current and historic, amongst other legal resources
- Frequently used sites related to US federal government informationLinks to a vast number of websites covering all levels of government.
- Catalog of US government publicationsJuly 1976-
- Monthly catalog1933-2000 VHL REF
- US government manualOnline 1995-
In print at VHL 1945-1948, 1951-2000/01, 2005/06
JK 421 .A3 (Latest issue Ref.) - Core documents of US democracyProvided online by the Government Printing Office. Includes current and historic documents.
- A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation (Library of Congress)US Congressional documents and debates 1774-1875.
- Popular names of US government reports
Searchable database of US Government reports indexed with their popular names. Entering a popular name into the search box will bring up the full bibliographic reference, with proper title and SuDoc reference number. There are also downloadable PDF versions of the print guide (1st-4th eds) produced by the Library of Congress. - Guide to US Government Publications at the British LibraryThe British Library has a large collection of U.S government publications, the result of over a century of acquisition by means of international exchange and purchase. This guide outlines the main categories of material available, the extent of their holdings; indexes and bibliographies in stock; and the arrangement of the collections within the Library, with shelfmarks for some of the most important series. If you can't find a publication here in Oxford, then the BL is the best place to try.
Latest US Government resources saved on delicious
A great number of official documents, particularly historical ones, are being digitised and made freely available online. The VHL is saving links to these on our delicious page as and when we come across them.

Loading...
Loading...
