Skip to main content

Spanish and Latin American Language and Literature: Journals and articles

Guide to resources for Hispanic language and literature studies.

Newspapers

For full details of how to find Spanish news sources, take a look at the following guide:

https://ox.libguides.com/newspapers/italyandspain 

Please ask for help if you have trouble accessing any of these. 

At the Taylorian, print copies of El País, including the latest weekend supplement, are available in the Teaching Collection during term time. Latest issues are kept in the Common Room. Newspapers may be borrowed, with the exception of the latest edition.

Spanish language newspapers and magazines are also available at the Language Centre.

Finding journal articles through OxLIP+

The best way to find journal articles using a given reference e.g from your reading list is to use a bibliographic database. In Oxford these are accessed through OxLIP+, where you can search for a particular database or browse by subject. Bibliographic databases contain details of thousands of journal articles, book chapters and dissertations. You can often link directly to a full text copy of an article from such a database. Below are some of the most popular options for modern languages.

Find journals

If you are interested in finding a particular journal title, you can search for it directly via SOLO.  You can refine your results to show only print or electronic versions.

Alternatively, you can search for online journals directly via OU E-journals. Please be aware that online access might only be available for selected years.

In the Taylorian, you can also browse modern languages journals in the Periodicals Reading Room (P.R.R. second floor) and in the Basement Periodicals (B.Per) section. All titles are shelved alphabetically.

If you have any difficulty locating a journal, please ask a member of staff. Print journals are for use in the library only, but photocopies may be made within copyright restrictions.