Skip to main content

Spanish and Latin American Language and Literature: Teaching Collection

Guide to resources for Hispanic language and literature studies.

Teaching Collection

For undergraduates and taught graduates, you should be able to find the majority of the books on your reading lists in the teaching collections, housed in the Modern Languages Faculty Library (often known as the MLF). 

On SOLO, the location is shown as Taylor Institution Library Teaching Collection Books.

The status of a book is usually shown as MLF Books/Available. If the there is a date showing, this means that the book is on loan and will be returned by that date. If you wish to reserve the book, you should place a hold.

Currently there are 2 separate classification schemes of Spanish books in the Teaching Collection, so you may find the same book in two slightly different places. For example, a copy of La Celestina by Fernando de Rojas could be at:

SK.ROJ1 - 5CEL - J7 - J8 (original classification)

or

PQ6426.A1 ROJ 2007 (new Library of Congress LC sequence)

The main entrance and staffed issue desk are located on the ground floor. Detailed guides to the classification schemes are available in the library. If you have any difficulty locating a book, please ask staff at the issue desk.

Guide to Library of Congress scheme for Spanish & Latin American literature

Teaching Collection Quick Guide

Not sure where to find the books you need? Download our Quick Guide, which contains location maps for the Teaching Collection and a handy reference guide to shelfmarks.