Skip to main content

Portuguese and Brazilian Language and Literature: Finding books

Guide to resources for Portuguese and Brazilian language and literature studies.

Find books in the library

SOLO is the portal for searching all resources e.g books, journals and databases that are accessible through the University. When looking for a book or journal on SOLO, make sure you note the shelfmark and the location.

A variety of (sometimes confusing) shelfmarks can be found at the Taylorian, so two copies of an item may have the same shelfmark but be at different locations. Alternatively, two copies of the same book could have entirely different shelfmarks!

Always ask staff if you're not sure where to locate a particular book.

Teaching Collection Quick Guide

Not sure where to find the books you need? Download our Quick Guide, which contains location maps for the Teaching Collection and a handy reference guide to shelfmarks.

Books outside Oxford

If you find a book you want to use for research that is not held in Oxford you have two options:

  1. Request an interlibrary loan. Many items, including journal articles and theses, can be requested from the British Library or other libraries nationally and internationally.
  2. Suggest it for purchase. Subject consultants are always happy to consider suggestions for purchase. Please give as much detail as possible when making a request.

Placing a stack request

Books with the location 'Closed Stack ' are housed offsite in a book storage facility, so you will need to request the book by placing a hold. Books are delivered to the main library daily and can be borrowed, with the exception of old, rare or fragile material, and periodicals. Bodleian books may also be requested to the Taylorian using the same hold request function. Please remember that Bodleian books are for reference use only and may not be borrowed.

Browsing the collection

All the books in both the Teaching and Research Collections are arranged in classification schemes, with each book having its own shelfmark. The best way of locating a book is to search SOLO and note down the shelfmark, as well as the location.

However, if you prefer to browse the shelves there are a few things to note. Currently there are 2 separate sequences of Portuguese books in both the Teaching Collection and the Research Collection:

E.g. a copy of Gil Vicente's 'Breve sumário da história de Deus' could be in 3 different places.

Old in-house classification:

e.g. PK.VIC2 - 5BRE - E3 in the Teaching Collection

or  CPW.241.A.1 in the Research Collection

New classification - Library of Congress scheme:

e.g. PQ9251.B7 VIC 2009  to find the same title again in the Library of Congress sequence


With very few exceptions, all new books go into the Library of Congress classification either in the Teaching or Research Collection. For a brief outline of the Library of Congress scheme for Portuguese, Brazilian and other Lusophone literatures, please see the guide below (PDF).