Skip to main content

Anthropology: Visual Anthropology

A guide to resources for anthropologists at Oxford.

Visual Anthropology

Resources for Visual Anthropology can be found at Tylor Library and also at the Balfour Library, Pitt Rivers Museum.

Online resources

Visual Anthropology

An Italian website (in English) that announces new books and journal issues, links to online publications, and also distributes some films. Members can borrow books and photocopies.

Antropología Visual

A Mexican website and portal (in Spanish) that provides links to many non-English sites and institutions.

Media Anthropology Network

The Media Anthropology Network, at the European Association of Social Anthropologists, aims to foster international discussion and collaboration around the anthropology of media. The network also contributes to the theoretical and empirical development of this anthropological subfield.

Nordic Anthropological Film Association (NAFA)

An organization focused on anthropological documentary film. NAFA have an online newsletter that details upcoming film festivals, conferences and contains book and film reviews. The newsletter now incorporates the Commission on Visual Anthropology newsletter.

Ethnographic Video Online

A comprehensive online resource for the visual study of human culture and behavior and the largest, most affordable streaming video collection of its kind, Ethnographic Video Online contains more than 500 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.
At the core of this Alexander Street collection are hundreds of the most frequently assigned films in anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology courses.
Global in scope, Ethnographic Video Online contains footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures, and is particularly rich in its coverage of the developing world.
Importantly, the collection also includes a wide range of indigenous media, from early experiments, to works from modern-day indigenous film production companies and other projects.
This resource is complementary to Anthropology Online.

Key books and journals

New books