Skip to main content

Anthropology: Middle East

A guide to resources for anthropologists at Oxford.

Ethnographic Region: Middle East

On this page you can find a list of useful online resources and databases for the anthropology of the Middle East.

Browsing the SCA Library - most material on the Middle and Near East has the Library of Congress shelfmark DS and can be found in the Main Reading Rooms on the ground floor of 51 Banbutry Road.

Online Resources

Index Islamicus

 

A bibliography of books, articles and reviews on Islam and the Muslim world, produced in the Library School of Oriental and Afican Studies in London;consists of the following publications:

Encylcopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures

 An interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. The Encyclopedia crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a groundbreaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world. 

Other Oxford Collections

The Bodleian Library Special Collections include one of the most important Islamic manuscript collections in Europe. 

The Bodleian Library also has Islamic, Arabic, Persian and Turkish holdings in it's stacks, that can be ordered to many libraries in Oxford including the OIL. The Bodleian collections are for reference only.

St Antony's College houses the Middle East Centre, who maintain the Middle East Library.

The Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies has a library, which is particularly strong on contemporary Islamic studies.

Books on Arabic art and archaeology are held in the Eastern Art Collection at the Sackler Library.

Other Oxford libraries that have potentially useful material include the Bodleian Theology Faculty Library and the History Faculty Library.

Other LibGuides for the Middle East

Other useful LibGuides for information on the Middle East:

Oriental Institute Library LibGuide

New Books