Skip to main content

Anthropology: Finding articles & papers

A guide to resources for anthropologists at Oxford.

Finding articles & papers

What are you looking for?

You can finding links to our print and electronic journals in SOLO or OU eJournals

If you want to do more general subject searching and explore around a topic use Bibliographic Databases (also known as Abstracting and Indexing Services).  See the 'Using online resources' tab for more information.

JSTOR contains the full-text of many of the classic journals, some as far back as the 1880s.

If you want to be alerted about new journal issues and tables of contents then sign up for the Zetoc service (see quick guide on this page).

Further information: Searching SOLO

SOLO has a new tab for searching for journal articles (in beta stage), which will search Primo Central - a cross-disciplinary resource comprising citations to about 400 million articles, many of which are available in full-text to Oxford scholars. Although comprehensive, you should be warned that Primo Central is not exhaustive at this time, and that you should consult specialist databases or seek help from a librarian to ensure, when needed, highly accurate searching in particular subject areas.

The pull-down menu next to the Journal Articles search box allows you to choose a subject category to cross-search a set of selected databases.

Not all databases can be cross-searched from SOLO, so you will need to consult OxLIP+ for a full listing of the databases to which Oxford subscribes.

Hints and tips: searching for articles

When searching in databases think about your keywords, and synonyms for these words. 

Use truncation and Boolean operators.

Your search will develop over time, keep a note of what search terms you have used and what has / hasn't worked.

Bibliographic Databases

These databases provide abstracting and indexing services for social science articles and papers:

Anthropology Plus

International Bibliography of Social Science (IBSS)

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

 

Citation Searching

Citation searching (finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication) can be done on Web of Science (Social Sciences Citation Index) or for articles published after 1996 on SCOPUS.

Google Scholar also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.

To find articles and books cited within books try searching Google Books with the reference in quotation marks.