Oxford LibGuides: Labour & employment law: Home

Labour & Employment law: quick start

Online resources
Key library

Lexis+ UK
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://plus.lexis.com/uk/xhome?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
Westlaw Edge UK
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is provided through a generous donation by Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP
Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
Westlaw books
This resource requires you to log in with your Oxford SSO again at the homepage.
A searchable database of over 300 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters).

Employment Law: a Very Short Introduction by David Cabrelli
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 9780198819240
Publication Date: 2022
Print copy is at General 510 C117.2a
Employment Law by Hugh Collins
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 9780199566549
Publication Date: 2nd edn 2010
Print copy is at KN190.COL 2010
Great Debates in Employment Law by Simon Honeyball
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 1137481625
Publication Date: 2nd end 2015
Print copy available at KN190.HON 2015

Employment Law Blog
Free resource. "The Practical Law Employment team and guest bloggers share their views and experiences"
UK Labour Law [blog]
Editors: Professor Alan Bogg (University of Bristol), Professor Hugh Collins FBA (London School of Economics), Professor Michael Ford QC (University of Bristol), Professor Virginia Mantouvalou (UCL), Karon Monaghan QC
DWP: department for work and pensions (UK)
Official UK website
Trades Union Congress: know your rights
Official websiteThe TUC publishes a series of free leaflets explaining your rights at work and dealing with other common workplace problems.

Bodleian Law Library (the Law Bod or BLL)
The Bodleian Law Library (the Law Bod or BLL) is Oxford University's research library for law, human rights, criminology and socio-legal studies. It supports the staff and students of the Faculty of Law and the wider legal community. Please visit the official website - via this link - for opening hours, floor plans, services etc
more...less...
Oxford Alumni are very welcome - but please be sure to have a current Bodleian Reader Card with you before arriving. (Details of the steps required for Oxford graduates are on the official Bodleian website.)
The Bodleian Law Library is proud to be a research library for the wider legal community, once they have been issued with a Bodleian Reader Card from Central Admissions. (Details of the procedure are available on the Bodleian's official website.)

NOTE. The terms of several of the major legal databases mean they are restricted to current members of the student cohort and teaching faculty.

Looking for a Reading List title?

You may see that SOLO resutls sometimes indicate that the book is in the Law Library Reserve Collection. This is a separate collection of books, shelved on Level 2.
Note. The books in the Law Reserve are available to all readers, not just those on a particular course

The collection of textbooks and monographs on English employment law is also on Level 2, with shelfmarks between KN190 and KN198.

Further guidance on the finding books in the Law Library is on the Books page of this guide.

Labour Law by Hugh Collins; Keith Ewing; Aileen McColgan
Call Number: KN190.COL 2019
ISBN: 9781108462211
Publication Date: 2nd edn 2019
Employment Law in Context by David Cabrelli
Call Number: KN192.CAB 2020
ISBN: 9780198840312
Publication Date: 4th edn 2020

Looking for course materials & reading list?

Subject Librarian

Elizabeth Wells

Email Me

Contact:

Bodleian Law Library
St Cross Building
Manor Road
Oxford
OX1 3UR

01865 271462

Related Bodleian guides

Human Rights
by Kate Matthews Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 619 views this year
European Union Law
by Margaret Watson Last Updated Apr 3, 2024 1046 views this year

Key library

Bodleian Law Library
The Bodleian Law Library (the Law Bod or BLL) is Oxford University's research library for law, human rights, criminology and socio-legal studies. It supports the staff and students of the Faculty of Law and the wider legal community. Please visit the official website - via this link - for opening hours, floor plans, services etc
more...less...
Oxford Alumni are very welcome - but please be sure to have a current Bodleian Reader Card with you before arriving. (Details of the steps required for Oxford graduates are on the official Bodleian website.)
The Bodleian Law Library is proud to be a research library for the wider legal community, once they have been issued with a Bodleian Reader Card from Central Admissions. (Details of the procedure are available on the Bodleian's official website.)

NOTE. The terms of several of the major legal databases mean they are restricted to current members of the student cohort and teaching faculty.

Labour & employment law: Home

Purpose of this guide

Labour & Employment law: quick start

Looking for course materials & reading list?

Subject Librarian

Related Bodleian guides

Key library