INTRODUCTION
Oxford's collections for historians are vast and expansive, covering both excellent archival and special collections, visual sources and critical monographs for most countries in the world.
To help you make the most of those collections use the guides as listed below. There are guides to history resources by COUNTRY, PERIOD, TOPIC, ARCHIVES and DATABASES.
History eresources desiderata & trials
Check out History eresources desiderata and trials for details of proposed or new databases and trials.
Your chance give feedback and to make recommendations!
Guides to relevant libraries
Guides to ARCHIVES
Special collections in the Bodleian Libraries comprise manuscripts, rare books, printed ephemera, maps, music and digitised collections in twelve different libraries across Oxford. Listed below are selected LibGuides to these collections.
Guides to DATABASES
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP)
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Region 5, Latin America
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)A Proquest guide how to search PAO. Please note that Oxford subscribes to PAO 1-5 and 7.
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically.
Guides by COUNTRY
- Great Britain and IrelandSee also Guides by PERIOD (below).
- Oxfordshire History for Continuing Education
- Western EuropeSee also Guides by PERIOD (below).
- Russia, Central and East Europe
- United States
- African Studies
- Commonwealth countries
- Middle East
- China
- Japan
- Korea
- South Asia
- Latin America
Guides by PERIOD
- Ancient history
- Medieval history (British & W European) c 500-1500an old fashioned PDF guide
- Early modern history (British & W European) c 1500-1800
- Modern history (British & W European) c1800-1989an old fashioned PDF guide
Guides by TOPIC
- Art History
- History of Science and Medicine - overview
- Criminal and judicial statistics from 1800 to the present day
- Legal history: common law tradition
- Official Paperse.g. Parliamentary Papers, League of Nations, United Nations, European Documentation Centre
- Primary Sources Online (British & W EU)A guide to quality online subscription resources available to Oxford users interested in British and Western European history. Covers medieval to modern history.
- Women's Studies

Loading...
