Key Resources
SOLO - searching online catalogue and e-resources. How to search SOLO?
OLIS- Oxford University online catalogue. How to search OLIS?
COPAC - UK universities online catalogue
WorldCat - catalogues of the main universities around the world
Tresoar - catalogue of the Frisian Library in Ljouwert, Netherlands (search Research/Frisian Literature)
About the Frisian Collection
This is a guide for Frisian language, literature and history, covering Modern Frisian (West Frisian) and Old Frisian.
The Taylor Institution Library's Frisian Collection consists of Prof. Alistair Campbell's library (Professor of Anglo-Saxon at Pembroke College, Oxford 1963-1974), which was donated in 1974. The main Old Frisian text editions as well as more modern publications on the Old and Modern Frisian language serve scholars of Old Frisian, Modern Frisian as well as the wider field of Germanic languages. The collection also comprises J.R.R.Tolkien's copy of Richthofen's Altfriesisches Woerterbuch.
A small frisian collection is held in the Bodleian Library, including subscriptions to the journals It Beaken and Us Wurk.
Finding books or periodicals
SOLO - searches across the online catalogue OLIS and various (but not all!) e-resources. Use to find books, conference proceedings, journals, etc. that are available in Oxford. SOLO will also give article or working paper titles. For a more comprehensive search for articles use bibliographic databases, see 'Articles & Working Papers'. SOLO will link through to OLIS when 'check library holdings' for a specific title is selected.
OLIS- Oxford University's online catalogue. Use to find books, conference proceedings, journals, etc. that are available in Oxford. or to place automated stack requests or reservations.
If a book or journal isn't available in Oxford, try finding it
- elsewhere in the UK through COPAC, the online catalogue for UK academic libraries. Titles may be requested through InterLibrary Loan.
- In Fryslân through Tresoar's Frisian Collection. Select 'research/Frisian Literature/general catalogue' from the main menue. Tresoar also indexes articles on Frisian language and history in their General Catalogue. Biographies and bibliographies of Frisian authors are also available through Tresoar's Frisian Literature page as well as Frisian plays. An InterLibrary Loan request may be placed for foreign holdings.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Need any advice on finding specific materials, using e-resources or anything else concerning Frisian, Dutch or linguistics? My working days are Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday. Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
