This is the "Getting started" page of the "Forestry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Jan 10, 2013 URL: http://ox.libguides.com/forestry Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

    Search SOLO

 

  External readers

If you are not a member of the University you will need to apply for a reader's ticket from the Bodleian Libraries Admissions office.

 

Resources for Forestry

The Radcliffe Science Library houses the Oxford Forest Information Service (OFIS).  This collection was formerly in the Department of Plant Sciences, where it was the library of the Oxford Forestry Institute.

OFIS works in close collaboration with the CABI (Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International), based in Wallingford. CABI abstracts material in many disciplines, including forestry.

The forestry collection is a mixture of material comprising books, periodicals and grey literature. The total collection is about 200,000 items. Most of the material is donated either by CABI or from forestry organizations from all over the world. Literature is collected in a wide variety of languages and all abstracted material is kept permanently.

Not all titles are catalogued on OLIS, Oxford's online computer catalogue, but with the aid of handlists and online databases material can be located.

 

 

History of forestry at Oxford

The history of forestry at Oxford, 1905-2005 - a set of five posters prepared by Roger Mills, Oxford Forest Information Manager 1981-2010, for the conference 'Frontiers in Forest Information : a centenary conference' held at St Anne's College Oxford, in December 2005.

 

Other libraries

Rhodes House Library has an extensive collection of circa 4000 manuscript and archive collections and is strong in material relating to the history of British colonial administration, including forestry.

Rhodes House Library also holds many relevant official publications from colonial and Commonwealth countries.

Subject Librarian for Biology and Forestry

Profile Image
Oliver Bridle
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Tel.: (01865) (2)72 854
Blog: http://rslbio.blogspot.com
Send Email
 
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you).

You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip