This is the "Home" page of the "EFL training and workshops" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EFL training and workshops  

Last Updated: Nov 20, 2014 URL: http://ox.libguides.com/english-training Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

EFL training and workshops

This page is constantly updated throughout the academic year, please keep checking back to see what other courses we have on offer.

Most of our training takes place in the EFL IT Training Room. See the Main Library floorplan for details of how to access this room.

 

Other relevant training programmes

Bodleian iSkills
Bodleian iSkills workshops and classes run every term and are designed to help you to make effective use of library and other information resources in print and online.

These practical workshops are free and will usually take place at OUCS. Book online via the OUCS Course website.  Please cancel your place if you cannot attend.

If you would like further information or advice as to which session would be most useful for you, please email usered@bodleian.ox.ac.uk or join the mailing list: wiser-subscribe@maillist.ox.ac.uk

    Bodleian iSkills timetable for this term
    Subscribe by RSS

Making the most of the Bodleian
These sessions are general ones, providing a practical introduction to the Bodleian within the context of the Bodleian Libraries, with hands-on guidance in the use of the online catalogue, the automated stack request system, and electronic resources accessed through OxLIP+.

Undergraduates and visiting students do not need to attend these sessions, as their timetabled library inductions (even if not held at the Bodleian) will cover the same skills and knowledge.
Making the most of the Bodleian timetable

 

English undergraduates - Michaelmas Term 2014 training programme

For Prelims Paper 1:

Using online resources for Prelims Paper 1

This session presents and explores different electronic resources available for the study of English Language, such as the OED, corpora and text analysis tools.  Attendees will have the opportunity to follow along with live demonstrations and undertake in-class activities.

These sessions will run:

Week 5: Wednesday 12th November, 3-4pm

Week 7: Thursday 27th November, 10-11am

These information skills sessions will be held in the IT training room. To book a place on this session, please email: efl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Postgraduate classes - Michaelmas Term 2014

Information skills training for postgraduates, MT 2014

The programmes for Introduction to Resources for Doctoral Research in English (1550-1830 and 1800-present) will be issued by the convenors and will include some library sessions. See also the Research Skills Toolkits below.

MSt 650-1550 &MPhil:Research resources for Medieval Studies
Wk 2: 14:00 - 15:30 Friday 24th October

Venue: IT Training Room, EFL

 

Information Fair (MSt &PRS)
Wk 3: Drop in any time between 15:00 - 17:00  Wednesday 29th October

For one-to-one guidance from subject librarians (English, History), and special collections staff

Venue: North Writing School, Exam Schools, High Street

 

MSt (all post-1800 strands): How to find stuff for your research
Wk 3: 10:00 - 11:00 Thursday 30th October

Covers: MSS, archives, biographical resources, ephemera, full-text databases, newspapers and literary magazines, catalogues, bibliographies, journals and bibliographic databases.

Venue: Seminar Room K, St Cross Building

 

Research Skills Toolkits (PRS)

"IT and library skills and services for your research". This free hands-on workshop is an opportunity to learn about a broad range of resources in one time-efficient session. The two-hour session focuses on the skills and tools that will streamline your academic work. You will encounter a variety of online tools and services to support your research. Relevant software, online services and libraries techniques are on offer for you to try out. You will also meet with subject specialists for help and guidance on further training.

Research Skills Toolkits for Humanities
MT Wk 8: 10:00 - 12:00 Wednesday 3rd December
Venue: IT Services. To book a place: http://courses.it.ox.ac.uk/detail/STNA

Research Skills Toolkits for English
HT Wk 3: 10:00 - 12:00 Thursday 22nd January
Venue: IT Services. To book a place: http://courses.it.ox.ac.uk/detail/STK

 

Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you).

You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip