Oxford LibGuides: Evidence Based Social Intervention: News Sources

Proquest Databases

ProQuest Databases
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) Health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.	Social Services Abstracts Social work, human services, including social welfare, social policy & community development.	Sociological Abstracts Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)	IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences	Ethnic NewsWatch
ERIC	Education Database	Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Newspaper Archives

ONLINE		Guardian (1821-2003) / Observer (1791-2003)	Browse A-Z Databases : Newspapers to find more.
Type in a keyword in the space above to search THE TIMES Digital Archive.	Archive	PRAVDA archive	Browse A-Z Databases : Newspapers to find more.

General News Sources

NEXIS UK (also known as LexisNexis)

Contains the text of news stories from over 20,000 sources including news wires, newspapers, magazines, and websites.

FACTIVA

Provides essential news and information together with the content delivery tools and services. Its collection of authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers.

Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989.

Current subscriptions

Available as an online edition Financial Times Online

FT.com and via various archives.

Available via ABI/INFORM Global (1992 onwards), or Gale Cengage Economist Historical Archive (1843-2014).

Available via ABI/INFORM Global (from 1984), or Factiva database (1991 onwards).

Historical Newspapers

Browse Databases A-Z: Newspapers
to find more.