Sociology: Data & Statistics

Alternative name: inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
 

ICPSR holds the world's largest collection of computer-readable social science data. In order to use this service you will need to create a MyData account.

Logging in with your MyData account and agreeing to the ICPSR Responsible Use Statement authorizes you to download data files from that point on. On subsequent visits to the site, when you begin to download a dataset, you will be asked to enter your e-mail address and MyData password.

Main Economic Indicators

The OECD produces annual, quarterly and monthly data for around 3,800 economic indicators. The variables cover national accounts, industrial production, employment, prices, business trends and trade. The dataset also includes the OECD's leading indicators (key variables that signal changes in the business cycle). Runs from January 1960 to the current month.

OECD Structural Analysis (STAN)

This portfolio includes four databases each useful at different units of analyses. The STAN indicatorsÆ industry list is based upon ISIC revision 3 and covers 65 sectors where detailed information varies across country, indicator, and coverage: STAN fills the gap between Industrial survey data (microdata) and National level aggregate statistics (macrodata). You can use STAN to analyse industrial structure and the evolution of industrial performance (e.g. import penetration, investment per employee, export market shares) within and across countries. The databases are updated on an annual basis and run from 1970 onwards.

OECD National Accounts

The OECD National Accounts presents a series of databases all containing data related to national accounts and its components including comparable statistics for key indicators. Countries covered vary but generally include OECD countries and a select group of non-OECD countries. The database is updated on a quarterly and annual basis and runs from 1955.

Main Science and Technology Indicators

The 149 Main Science and Technology Indicators provides final or provisional results and government forecasts covering such topics as resources devoted to research and development, patent families, the technology balance of payments, and international trade in highly Research and Development intensive industries.

Measuring Globalisation 2001

The Measuring Globalisation Statistics database contains figures on foreign affiliates (inward investment) by investing country in the manufacturing sector covering variable

OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics. It is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data with online access provided for all publications and statistics released since 1998.

The iLibrary covers 17 key themes including development, economics, governance, trade and social issues, migration and health. As of March 2013 content includes 5 billion data points across 42 databases; 44,630 tables and graphs; 8,330 ebook titles; 30,280 chapters; and 1,920 key tables.

Please note, IEA statistics are not included in our subscription.

UKDS (UK Data Service) provides access and support for a range of international datasets (macro and micro) and the NS Time Series Databank. The service promotes and facilitate effective use of international datasets in research and teaching in social sciences.

The World Bank’s mission is to alleviate poverty, with a desire to foster public ownership, partnership and participation in development from a wide range of stakeholders. It provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalogue. Broad access to these data allow researchers, policymakers and advocacy groups to make well-informed decisions and measure improvements accurately.

The World Bank World Development Indicators (WDI) contain statistical data for over 600 development indicators for over 200 countries and 18 country groups running from 1960 onwards. The extensive collection of development data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators.

The Eurostat Database (formerly the Eurostat New Cronos Database) contains high quality macroeconomic and social statistics data, mostly organised into nine statistical themes: General and regional statistics; Economy and finance; Population and social conditions; Industry, trade and services; Agriculture, forestry and fisheries; International trade; Transport; Environment and energy; Science, technology, digital society.

More than 1400 Eurostat publications featuring the latest indicators, news releases, nomenclatures and other publications covering:

General Statistics - Economy and Finance - Population and Social Conditions - Industry, Trade and Services - Agriculture and Fisheries - External Trade -Transport - Environment and Energy - Research and Development.

Note that we only have a ONE user licence, so please logout as soon as you have finished.

Indiastat.com is the largest resource for Indian statistical data on health, higher education, agricultural production information, economic statistics and tourism related data et al. The site also contains information on sectors like bank and financial institutions, companies, cooperatives, crime and law, population, foreign trade, labour & workforce, housing, media, power, transport, urban and rural settlements in India and many more.

Landscan is a population database that maps geographical distribution of a populace within cells of one-kilometre resolution over a 24 hour period. This allows assessment, estimation and visualisation of populations reacting to disease outbreaks, social upheaval or natural disasters. The modelling process uses sub-national level census counts and other data for each country combined with high resolution imagery analysis.

Coverage is global. The archive of data is available as far back as 2000. Access via a web-based application allows general browsing and visualisation.

Deeper analysis is possible using Web Map Service (WMS) or Web Coverage Service GIS applications. The username and password required to access the data in this form is provided on the Username and password webpage.

Regional Trends was a comprehensive regular source of official statistics for the Statistical Regions of the UK (Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Government Office Regions within England) published until 2011. It included a wide range of demographic, social, industrial and economic statistics, covering aspects of life in the regions.

Designed to optimize searching and browsing of statistical data, Universal Database of Statistical Publications covers Russian- and English-language publications, reports and data sets from State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States. Features searching within reports, tables and graphs, transliteration option, tables of contents in English, etc.

Coverage includes:

* National and regional level socioeconomic indicators

* Statistical yearbooks and monthly analytical reports

* Annual statistical abstracts on national accounts, population, labor, public health, transportation, industrial output, and related socioeconomic measures

Historical Statistics of the United States has long been the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. It has not been revised, however, since the Bicentennial Edition, which was published in 1975 and provided data through 1970. The period since then has witnessed an explosion of quantitative scholarship and the general expansion of the government's statistical record keeping. By one estimate, more than three fourths of the data output of the U.S. government and more than 80 percent of the historical data series generated by scholars have been produced since 1970. No subject area and few data series have remained untouched by this phenomenal growth of the American quantitative record.

The revised, updated, and expanded Millennial Edition contains considerably more information than its immediate predecessor: five volumes rather than two, more than twice as many pages of data and documentation, and a tripling of the number of data series: 37,339 in the new edition. This expansion occurred along several dimensions. Most series from the previous edition were extended by roughly thirty years, and the coverage of most topics was enhanced. More than a dozen new topics were added: American Indians, slavery, outlying areas, poverty, non-profit organizations, and the Confederate States of America, to list a few examples. Finally, the chapters in the new edition are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, provide a guide to the sources, and offer expert advice on the reliability of the data and the limits that might be placed on their interpretation.

A collection of British Historical Population Reports.

The Online Historical Population Reports (OHPR) collection provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937.

The collection goes far beyond the basic population reports with a wealth of textual and statistical material which provide an in-depth view of the economy, society (through births, deaths and marriages) and medicine during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

These 200,000 pages of census and registration material for the British Isles are supported by numerous ancillary documents from The National Archives, critical essays and transcriptions of important legislation which provide an aid to understanding the context, content and creation of the collection.

In digitising this resource the OHPR has enabled Browsing through the collection by date or geography, or Searching the content directly. Documents relating to the digitization and web development process may be accessed via the Project tab.

OHPR is an AHDS History project, funded as part of the JISC Digitisation programme and is hosted by the UK Data Archive at the University of Essex.

The International Historical Statistics (IHS) series is a key resource providing access to statistics covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. It is a collection of data sets taken from hundreds of disparate primary sources, including both official national and international abstracts dating back to 1750. This edition provides updated statistics to 2010 – covering 260 years and cover Europe, The Americas, but also Africa, Asia and Oceania. There are vital statistics and statistics for population, labour force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport and communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Statistical analysis can be conducted across both time and geopolitical boundaries. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.

The collection is an interdisciplinary resource. It will be of interest to academics, researchers and students in sociology, politics, history, economics, business, environment, international relations, geography and statistical studies.

World Press Trends Database is a primary source of data on the newspaper industry worldwide. It includes data from more than 70 countries, accounting for more than 90 per cent of the global industry's value. The data is available as individual country reports, and aggregated to reveal trends on circulation and readership. Users can generate custom reports, which can be downloaded as Excel files.