The majority of books held by the Bodleian Libraries, in both physical and electronic formats, can be searched via SOLO. On this page you will find recommended books, guidance on how to search for and access print and ebooks, and libraries in the University that might be relevant for your studies and research.
Use the tabs above to explore the key texts and libraries for students of Archaeology at Continuing Education. Access to collections and borrowing privileges are subject to conditions; please check individual library websites for further information.
For those wishing to learn more about searching for physical collections in Oxford, we recommend the following:
Below you will find some key texts for the Archaeology courses at Continuing Education. The links will take you through to SOLO where you can find out how to access the books.
Interpreting the Landscape by 
Unravelling the Landscape by Books of interest to Archaeology students are shelved in the Lower and Upper Library under the following classification numbers (Dewey Decimal Classification):
| 573.2-3 | Human evolution | 937 | Rome and Italy to 476 |
| 930-939 | Archaeology; Ancient history to c.499 | 938 | Ancient Greece to 323 |
| 930.1 | General Archaeology, methodology | 941 | British history |
| 932 | Ancient Egypt | 941.006 | History of the Landscape |
| 936 | Europe | 948.022 | Viking history |
Oversize books are located in the Lower Library (001 – 936.299) and in the Reading Room (936.3 – 999) and pamphlets can be found in the Lower Library (001-999). A separate collection of books and pamphlets relating to Local History (Oxfordshire, Berkshire and Buckinghamshire) is also available in the Upper Library (001-942.59).
A number of other libraries may be of relevance to those studying Archaeology.
Ebooks are digital versions of written works. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of printed books. See the tabs above for details of different ebook resources relevant to those studying Archaeology at Continuing Education.
Many ebooks have enhanced functionality, such as connectivity with reference management software, the ability to annotate and accessibility features.
Members of Oxford University can use ebooks that the Bodleian Libraries have purchased for free. Search for them on SOLO. They can be read on a desktop computer, laptop, tablet, e-reader or mobile phone; you just need your Oxford Single Sign On to access them. Individually purchased ebooks are all searchable on SOLO, but not all purchased ebook collections are, so it is important to visit the websites of ebook collections too. Look at the 'ebook collections' tab above.
Note, some ebooks have restrictive access and usage terms, for example they can only be read by one person at a time.
Some books are acquired via 'electronic Legal Deposit'. These must be read on a library desktop computer in one of the Bodleian Libraries. Further information on how to identify and access electronic Legal Deposit items on SOLO is at the link below.
The links below are provided for those wishing to learn more about ebooks.
Below you will find key texts available as ebooks for Archaeology students at Continuing Education.
You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the ebooks if you are not on the University network.
Iron Age Communities in Britain by 
The Oxford Handbook of Roman Britain by 
The Oxford Handbook of Anglo-Saxon Archaeology by You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the ebooks if you are not on the University network.
You will find study skills resources compiled by Bodleian Libraries staff available on Oxford Reading List Online (ORLO).
You will need your Oxford Single Sign On credentials to access the list.
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.
There are a number of reasons why the Bodleian Libraries may be unable to provide electronic access to a resource. The ebooks guide explains some of these reasons:
