Skip to main content

Computer Science: Databases

Citation Searching

 

Citation searching (finding out which articles have cited an article or book after publication) can be done on Web of Knowledge or for articles published after 1996 on Scopus.

Other Relevant Guides

See Subject Guides in the area of Medicine, along with the following guides:

Highlighted Databases

Research Databases at Oxford

Oxford subscribes to a large number of Bibliographic databases, which can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books and patents, by subject or by a particular author. Subscription databases can be found and accessed through OxLIP+.

Highlighted Databases

Search tips

Databases are provided on different interfaces. Most of them support the following functions:

  • Advanced Search screen provides options for combining your keywords.
  • Combine keywords using appropriate Boolean Operators (drop down menu):
    • AND - to combine/narrow down; OR - to broaden; NOT - to exclude terms.
  • Use synonyms, alternative terms, phrases and variations in spelling.
  • Use truncation at the end of your term (*)
  • Refine results by subjects, controlled vocabulary, publication year ...
  • Select/Mark relevant references and display results.
  • Save, E-mail or Export selected references.

Document Supply

If Oxford doesn't have an article or book, you may be able to get it through:

Request a Resource

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that provides a broad search of scholarly literature. It covers multiple disciplines and sources.

Using Google Scholar off campus

To get full-text links in your Google Scholar results, you must first tell Google Scholar that you have access to the University of Oxford library subscriptions by

  • Selecting Settings from the top of the Google Scholar Home Page
  • Selecting Library Links
  • Searching for University of Oxford and selecting it from the list
  • Saving your settings

You will now see 'Find it @ Oxford' links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text provided by library subscriptions.