Oxford LibGuides: Jurisprudence: Hart-Dworkin

H L A Hart 1907-1992, Professor of Jurisprudence at Oxford from 1952 to 1968

In his own voice: HLA Hart in conversation with David Sugarman
Free resource. Made available by OUP. " This recording of lengthy interview with H.L.A. Hart (1907–1992) ... resurrected from ... audio tapes and given new life. Dusted and digitalized, the result is something quite beautiful. Here is Hart in his own words recorded in 1988, reviewing his life, his work, and his significance. The interview presents Hart as three individuals: legal philosopher, interviewee, and critic. The recording adds another dimension to our understanding of Hart that must be incorporated into our collective memory."

The Concept of Law by H. L. A. Hart; L(Penelope A. Bulloch; leslie Green; Joseph Raz)
Call Number: Law Reserve Collection KA21.HAR 2012
ISBN: 9780199644698
Publication Date: 3rd edn, 2012
Essays in Jurisprudence and Philosophy by H. L. A. Hart
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9780198253884
Publication Date: 1984
Print copies available in Law Library at Jurisp 510 H325h
Punishment and Responsibility by H. L. A. Hart
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9780199534777
Publication Date: 1968; reprtint with introduction 2008
Print copies in Bodleian Law Library at Jurisp 510 H325f2 if preferred
Causation in the Law by H. L. A. Hart; Tony Honoré
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9780198254744
Publication Date: 2nd edn 1985
Print copy available in aw Reserve Collection: KA26.HAR 1985 if preferred

Some commentary on HLA Hart

Reading HLA Hart's 'the Concept of Law' by Luis Duarte d'Almeida (Editor); James Edwards (Editor); Andrea Dolcetti (Editor)
Call Number: Law Reserve Collection KA21.HAR 2013
ISBN: 1849463247
Publication Date: 2013
Reflections on 'the Concept of Law' by A. W. Brian Simpson
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 9780199693320
Publication Date: 2011
Print copy is at Jurisp 510 H325bS
The Legacy of H. L. A. Hart by Matthew Kramer (Editor); Claire Grant (Editor); Ben Colburn (Editor); Antony Hatzistavrou (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 9780199542895
Publication Date: 2008-09-15
Print copy is at Jurisp 510 H325yK
Life of H L A Hart : the nightmare and the noble dream by Lacey, N
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 019920277X
Publication Date: 2004
Print copy is at KB15.HAR.A2.LAC 2004

Ronald Dworkin 1931-2013, Professor of Jurisprudence at Oxford from 1969 to 1998

The Law Reserve Collection on Level 2 has those of Dworkin's titles which are Reading List essentials

Law's Empire by Ronald M. Dworkin
Call Number: Law Reserve Collection KA55.DWO 1986
ISBN: 1841130419
Publication Date: 1986 (Fontana ed), 1986 (HUP ed), 1998 (Hart edition)
Justice in Robes by Ronald Dworkin
Call Number: Law Reserve Collection KA37.DWO 2006
ISBN: 9780674021679
Publication Date: 2006
Taking Rights Seriously by Ronald Dworkin
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9781780937564
Publication Date: 1978 (2013 edition)
Law Reserve Collection KA25.DWO 1978 has copies of the Duckworth 1978 "New impression, with a reply to critics"

Other works will be on open shelf in the Jurisprudence collection on Level 2 - and sometimes as ebooks too! In the Jurisprudence section works by Dworkin are followed by works on this thinking.

Justice for Hedgehogs by Ronald Dworkin
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9780674046719
Publication Date: 2011
Print copy in Law Library at Jurisp 510 D993k if preferred

Dworkin on record

Dworkin: Is there truth in Interpretation: Law, literature & history
Open access. YouTube of the inaugural (2009) Frederic R. and Molly S. Kellogg Biennial Lecture on Jurisprudence in the Coolidge Auditorium of the Library of Congress.
Dworkin: Justice for Hedgehogs: Keynote Address
Open access. YouTube A Conference on Ronald Dworkin's then forthcoming book held at Boston University School of Law on September 25-26, 2009.
Dworkin: Justice in Robes
Open access. YouTube Discussion between Jeremy Waldron, Professor of Law and Philosophy, New York University School of Law and Holberg Prize laureate Professor Ronald Dworkin. The discussion is part of The Holberg Prize Symposium 2007 in honor of Ronald Dworkin.
Dworkin: Law & Political Morality
Open access. YouTube Introduction to the the Holberg Prize Symposium 2007 by Holberg Prize laureate Professor Ronald Dworkin.
Dworkin: Equality
Open access Youtube. Ronald Dworkin presented his theory of equality at a Carnegie Council event on December 6, 2011.
Dworkin: Skepticism
Open access. YouTube: Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs . This event took place on December 6, 2011.

Commentary on Dworkin and his works

Ronald Dworkin by Stephen Guest
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 9780804772327
Publication Date: 3rd edn 2012
A print copy could be requested from Closed Stacks or read in the BPTFL
Legacy of Ronald Dworkin by Wil Waluchow (Editor); Stefan Sciaraffa (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 0190466413
Publication Date: 2016
Print copy is at Jurisp 510 D993yW
Exploring Law's Empire by Scott Hershovitz (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 0199274355
Publication Date: 2006
Print copy is at Jurisp 510 D993yHe
Dworkin and His Critics by Justine Burley (Editor); Ronald Dworkin (Contribution by)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 0631197656
Publication Date: 2004
Print copy is at Jurisp 510 D993yBu

Ronald Dworkin: An Appreciation by Jeremy Waldron
Open access. Tribute in SSRN collection
Dworkin's obituary in The Guardian
The Guardian allows a certain amount of open access.