This guide is intended for students and researchers studying Egyptology at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about books, journals and electronic resources for Egyptology, including ebooks, ejournals and databases.
The OXF_Study skills resources reading list gives a sample of available books, documents and videos on study skills that you may find helpful. Many titles are available as ebooks or can be borrowed from Oxford libraries.
You may find other relevant titles available on SOLO, and you can suggest books you would like the Bodleian Libraries to purchase via the link below. You can also contact your college library to suggest books you would like them to purchase.
|
The foundations for today's Egyptological collection held at the Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library were laid by F.Ll. Griffith, the first Professor of Egyptology at Oxford. In the British Isles Oxford has the best collection for printed books on Egyptology, offering also access to a growing collection of ebooks on this subject. Today the physical books are held by the Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library as well as the Bodleian Library, and anyone studying or researching Egyptology in Oxford should expect to make use of both libraries. Apart from these two major research libraries, Queen's College houses the Peet Library which comprises c. 3,400 books and some periodicals on Egyptology. It is open to all students of Egyptology of the University and anyone else who can prove that access to the collection will be beneficial to their studies. Registration is essential. More information on finding books on Egyptology can be found on the Books page.
|
On a monthly basis the Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library publishes it's new accessions, inc monographs, journals and off-site material, in the form of New Acquisitions Lists on the Library's 101 Blog. The new items are arranged by floor / collections. Most material for Egyptology, Sudanology and Coptology is kept on F1 (= Floor 1), in 1P (= Papyrology) or HA (= Haverfield Room), and the locations appear in the lists to the left of each entry. Related material can be found on all floors of the Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library.
The full range of Egyptological journals, in print and, where available, in electronic format, can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are the top journals for Egyptology, and you find more information about periodicals on the Journals page of this guide.
A full, browsable list of ejournals available at Oxford.
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ejournals at Oxford. You can filter by topic, publisher and more.
Aegyptus (eformat only)
Annales du Service des antiquités de l'Égypte (print only)
Antike Sudan : Mitteilungen der Sudanarchäologischen Gesellschaft zu Berlin e. V. in print and eformat
Bulletin de l'Institut français d'archéologie orientale in print format and in eformat
Chronique d'Égypte in print format and in eformat
Egitto e vicino oriente in print format and in eformat
Enchoria (print only)
Göttinger Miszellen in print format and in eformat
Journal of the American Research Center in Egypt in print format and in eformat
Journal of Coptic Studies in print format and in eformat
Journal of Egyptian Archaeology in print format and in eformat
Lingua Aegyptia: journal of Egyptian language studies (print only)
Mitteilungen des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts, Abteilung Kairo (print only)
Revue d'Égyptologie in print format and in eformat
Studien zur altägyptischen Kultur in print format and in eformat
Zeitschrift für Ägyptische Sprache und Alterthumskunde in print format and in eformat
Oxford subscribes to many databases. For Egyptology you can additionally access a number of such databases freely online. Below, you find a few key databases, and many more are listed in the databases and online resources pages of this guide. A larger selection of subject-related databases can be found on the Bodleian Libraries' Databases A-Z.
The BBO includes the bibliographic sections of the Byzantinische Zeitschrift from volume 98 (2005) up to the present day, containing currently c. 30,000 entries. The entries are organized systematically by subject area and enriched by short discussions and references to relevant review articles.
The Comprehensive Coptic Lexicon v 1.2 contains Egyptian-Coptic and Greek-Coptic datasets.
The CDO aims to make it easy to look up Coptic words in all dialects and to supply freely accessible translations in English, French and German.
Demotic Dictionary Online (CDD)
The CDD is a lexicographic tool for reading texts written in a late stage of the ancient Egyptian language and in a highly cursive script known as Demotic. Demotic was in use from ca. 650 B.C. until the middle of the fifth century A.D.
Digital palaeography for Demotic texts.
Based on still unpublished accounts from Dime the projects investigates the economic life of an Egyptian temple during the Roman Period. The database includes images of the papyri, translations and a bibliography.
EEF guide to internet resources for ancient Egyptian texts
This compilation of freely available online resources for Ancient Egyptian texts has been published by the Egyptologists' Electronic Forum (EEF).
Online Egyptological Bibliography
The OEB which is available through SOLO and holds the largest available collection of references for Egyptological literature.
This is a database of Ancient Egyptian names.
The TLA is an online dictionary for the Ancient Egyptian language, covering lemma from the Old Kingdom through to the Ptolemaic Period, including Demotic.
Trismegistos is a searchable online database of metadata of all published and semi-published texts from Egypt and the Nile valley, between roughly BC 800 and 800 AD, not only in Greek, Latin, and Egyptian in its various scripts (Demotic, hieroglyphic, hieratic and Coptic), but also in Meroitic, Aramaic, Arabic, Nabataean, Carian, and other languages.
The annually updated database records lemmata and unusual personal names that are discussed in the most used Egyptological journals.
Whilst collections and resources are focused on the Bodleian Libraries' collections, the following online library catalogues can be useful for locating copies in collections in the UK and Ireland as well as in collections worldwide:
Jisc Library Hub Discover exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of major UK and Irish libraries. In a single search you can discover the holdings of the UK's National Libraries (inc the British Library), many university libraries and specialist research libraries.
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services.
Email: art-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
The Ashmolean’s collections from ancient Egypt and Sudan are among the most extensive in Britain, with approximately 50,000 objects representing every period of human occupation in the Nile Valley from prehistory to the 7th century AD.
The Griffith Institute is the heart of Egyptology and Ancient Near Eastern Studies, located at the University of Oxford for over eighty years.
The University of Oxford's dedicated centre for research into the history, languages and cultures of Azerbaijan, the Caucasus and Central Asia from antiquity to modern times.
Founded in 1884 the Pitt Rivers Museum houses the archaeological and anthropological collections of the University of Oxford. The collection includes objects from Egypt and the Sudan.
The Griffith Archive is the largest archive of unpublished Egyptological material in the world, including manuscripts, photographs, slides, drawings, sketches, watercolours, correspondence, notebooks and dig diaries, indexes, plans of Egyptian monuments, and you can browse the collection via the online catalogue. Consultation of the collection is by appointment only.
The Bodleian Library holds some archival material, most importantly the Papers of Sir John Gardner Wilkinson. The great majority of this material is not on open access.