Skip to main content

Music at Oxford - a guide to libraries and resources: e-Resources for Music

Subjects: Music

Other links

WISER workshops (Workshops in Information Skills and Electronic Resources) - These workshops are aimed at researchers, academic staff, research students and librarians from across the University.

Research and Resources Guides -  a wide range of research, resource and library guides are available from our  LibGuides service.

Selected Music Databases

The principal electronic resources for Music to which Oxford currently subscribes are:

  • Grove Music Online
    Online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, also incorporating The Grove Dictionary of Opera. (Now part of Oxford Music Online.)
  • RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature
    Indexes and abstracts to musical literature of all types from 1967 onwards.
  • RIPM
    Retrospective index to 19th- and early 20th-century music periodicals.
  • Oxford Bibliographies (Music)
    Research guides covering a wide range of composers and other musical topics.

The databases above can be accessed through OxLIP+ or  SOLO and are freely available from within the University. The subscription databases are available remotely to current University members through their Single Sign-On (SSO).

There follows small selection of key online resources which are freely available. A more comprehensive list is in preparation:

  • RISM-OPAC
    Union-catalogue of music manuscripts of individual composers 1600-1800. Complements the various RISM printed volume series. Coverage is still comparatively small, especially for holdings of British libraries. Records for Bodleian manuscripts are gradually being added.
  • RISM (UK)
    Union-catalogue of pre-1800 music manuscripts in UK libraries (Bodleian not yet included).
  • DIAMM (Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music)
    Archive of high-quality digital images constituting a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts. Free but registration required.
  • IMSLP (Petrucci Music Library)
    A great resource for digitised music scores in the public domain but remember, what is public-domain in one country may not be in another so not all scores on IMSLP can legally be used in the UK.
  • Digital Resources for Musicology
    Links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists.
  • Online Resources for Music Scholars (Harvard)
    Links for research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice.

Electronic Journals

A wide range of music journals is available electronically, either complete or in part. This includes not only back-runs of over 50 core journals held in JSTOR Music but many more besides. Access is through Oxford University e-Journals, Oxford's electronic journal management system, or OxLIP+. Most may also be found through SOLO.

Electronic Books

The Libraries subscribe to a large and increasing number of e-books from a number of publishers and aggregators, including EBLEbrary, EBSCOhost and including series such as the Cambridge Companions, Cambridge Histories and Oxford Scholarship Online. For more information on finding, using and citing e-books at Oxford, please see the e-books LibGuide.

The various packages and platforms can be found through OxLIP+ and individual e-books are catalogued separately on SOLO.

Online listening