Skip to main content

Italian Literature & Language: Special Collections

Subjects: Italian, Linguistics

Taylor Institution Library, Italian Special Collections: Battista Guarini, Il pastor fido

Guarini Collection

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/01/Pastor_Fido.jpg/166px-Pastor_Fido.jpg(Image: Battista Guarini, Il pastor fido, scene from Act 1 (engraving, c. 1602; See Berthold Wiese, Erasmo Pèrcopo: Geschichte der Italienischen Litteratur, Leipzig und Wien 1910 [Wikimedia Commons])

Multiple editions of the 16th-century pastoral tragi-comedy by Battista Guarini, Il pastor fido. Records for Guarini editions held by the Taylor Institution are in the online catalogue (SOLO) as well as in a separate checklist:

Oxford images

        

Above: Gabriele d'Annunzio La crociata degli innocenti (Milano: L'Eroica, 1920) [Taylor Institution Library collection]

Taylor Institution Library, Founder's Special Collections

Sir Robert Taylor (1714–1788), Architect of the Bank of England, Founder of the Taylor Institution

Sir Robert Taylor (1714–1788), Architect.
By (or attributed to) William Miller
(Taylor Institution Library; photo credit: University of Oxford;
Art/UK; Public Catalogue Foundation/BBC Your Paintings)

Taylor Institution Library, Other Italian-Related Special Collections

Futurist Collection: Futurist-era publications.(Image: Corrado Govoni Poesie elettriche (Ferrara: A. Taddei, 1920)
[Taylor Institution Library])

Futurism, Fascism & the Art of War: Link to the Taylorian's blog post about our Futurist-era collection

Moore Collection: Circa 900 volumes by and about Dante. The collection was formed by Edward Moore (1835-1916), principal of St. Edmund Hall, Taylorian Lecturer in Dante (1895-1908), and a founder of the Dante Society (1876).

Oxford Dante Society: Abstracts of papers read before the Oxford Dante Society, 2 vols., 1876-98; and a minute book of the Oxford Dante Society, 1876-1968.

Early Modern collections: Link to the Taylorian's blog post about our Ariosto holdings

Italian-related Special Collections at the Taylorian