Skip to main content

Italian Literature & Language: E-resources: General

Subjects: Italian, Linguistics

Key resources

Library catalogues

SOLO: Oxford's union catalogue for the holdings of university, departmental and college libraries as well as e-resources available to Oxford researchers.
COPAC: Union catalogue for the holdings of UK university libraries.

WorldCat: Union catalogue of major research universities worldwide.

Find articles, essays, reviews

Catalogo italiano dei periodici: Union catalogue of Italian libraries periodicals and the articles inside them.
JSTOR: Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years (this is known as the "moving wall").
MLA International Bibliography: Produced by the Modern Languages Association. Citations for journals, books, collections of essays, conference proceedings, etc., published worldwide.

Access other e-resources

OxLIP+:Access to online resources and databases in all subjects.

Biography, Dictionaries & encyclopedias, Images, Journals, Theses & dissertations

Biographies

  • BASILI -- Banca dati scrittori immigrati in lingua italiana
    Compiled by Maria Cristina Mauceri,Armando Gnisci, Franca Sinopoli. Contains information on Italian migrant and immigrant writers including references to criticism and theses regarding these authors.
  • Dizionario biografico degli italiani (DBI)
    Full-text/abbreviated online version of the extended essays on Italians through history. [Note : Currently only about half-way through the alphabet.] Essential biographical resource for major and minor figures in all subject areas. Excellent bibliographies (albeit somewhat out-of-date for the earliest-added entries).
    NOTE: This database is unstable. Attempts to search it may prove unsuccessful.
  • Italian Women Writers
    Access to an extensive corpus of literature written by Italian women authors. Biographies, portraits, editions are indicated. Loading of full-texts is ongoing.

Language/linguistic atlases

Images

  • Archivio Storico Istituto Luce
    Photographs and film footage documenting events and a changing society in C20th Italy, from L.U.C.E. (L'Unione Cinematografica Educativa, founded in 1924).
  • ARTstor 
    Union collection of image collections worldwide. Approaching 1,000,000 images covering all periods, all geographic areas andperiods  in the Humanities. Includes ca. 25,000 images from the Bodleian's Medieval & Renaissance manuscripts collection and ca. 80,000 images from the Magnum Photo Archive, with many film-related photographs.

For other image databases see Art & Architecture: Images 

Journals: indexes & full text

  • Italinemo (Riviste di italianistica nel mondo)
    Index to Italian studies periodicals published worldwide since 2000. Includes an abstract for each article.
  • JSTOR
    Full-text (mostly English-language) journals in all subject areas.
    NOTE: The most recent issues of each journal are NEVER included.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Produced by the Modern Languages Association. Citations for journals, books, collections of essays, conference proceedings, etc., published worldwide.
  • OU e-Journals
    Links to all the e-journals to which Oxford subscribes.

Libraries

Theses & dissertations