Skip to main content

Alexander Library of Ornithology Guide: Databases & Web Resources

Search OxLIP+

Search for databases in OxLIP+, Oxford University's complete list of databases, directly from this box.

Local Databases

The following e-resources have single user licenses and are available only within the Alexander Library:

  • BBi : British Birds Interactive 1907-2007
  • BWPi : Birds of the Western Palearctic (Version 2.0)
  • Breeding birds of Britain & Ireland : nests, eggs, nestlings, fledglings and habitats
  • Breeding birds of the Western Palearctic : nests, eggs, nestlings, fledglings and habitats
  • Journal of the Bombay Natural History Society : one hundred volumes of JBNHS (1886-2003)

Some of these resources require a disk to access the database. Please ask Library Staff if you require assistance.

Databases & Web Resources in Ornithology

Search these databases to find references to print and online information sources.

Those marked * below can also be accessed and cross-searched through OxLIP+, the complete list of Oxford's databases, online reference works, e-journal and e-book packages.

Guides for some of these databases are available in the Bodleian Libraries' Database Guides.

General Science Databases

  • Web of Science *: (including Science Citation Index).1945- present. 12,000 key journals across science, medicine, social science and humanities.
  • Scopus *: Elsevier’s abstract and citation database which covers both literature and web sources. Covers 18,000 journals across science and medicine, incorporating journal artciles, conference proceedings and patent records.
  • Biological Sciences *:  Bibliographic database of abstracts and citations for biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Access through OxLIP+ by searching for ' Biological Sciences'.

E-Journals

Specialist Databases

  • Avibase: database containing over 12 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.
  • BIRDNET: provides information for and about the scientific study of birds. It is maintained, by the Ornithological Council as a service to ornithologists and the general public and hosted by the Smithsonian Institution.
  • Internet Bird Collection (IBC): A free online media library, consisting of videos, photos and audio clips of birds from around the world.
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library *: a consortium of 12 natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections through open access principles. In partnership with the Internet Archive and through local digitization efforts the BHL has digitized millions of pages of taxonomic literature, representing nearly 100,000 titles.
  • IOC World Bird Names: This site updates and virtually replaces "BIRDS OF THE WORLD Recommended English Names" By Frank Gill and Minturn Wright Princeton University Press, 2006. Our goal on behalf of the International Ornithologists' Union, formerly International Ornithological Congress (IOC), is to facilitate worldwide communication in ornithology and conservation through the consistent use of English names linked to current species taxonomy. The IOC list provides English names for Wikipedia (English) and species taxonomy for Wikipedia (French), Wikipedia Commons, and the Tree of Life project as well as many online databases and regional works worldwide. 5000-6000 colleagues visit the site each month.
  •  Macaulay Library Sound Archive at Cornell Lab of Ornithology: The world's largest and oldest archive of biodiversity audio and video recordings. The archive includes more than 175,000 audio recordings covering 75% of the world's bird species, with increasing numbers of insect, fish, frog and mammal recordings. All archived analog audio recordings back to 1929 have been digitised and are freely accessible. 
  • New Zealand Birds Online:  New Zealand Birds Online is a searchable encyclopaedia of New Zealand birds. You can find detailed information about all 457 species of New Zealand birds, including all living, extinct, fossil, vagrant and introduced bird species. The database is searchable by name, conservation status, and geographical distribution. Explore the site to read expert-written texts, listen to sound files of bird calls, and browse more than 6,500 photographs.
  • Neotropical Bird Online: an authoritative, online resource for life histories of Neotropical birds. These accounts are intended primarily for ornithologists, especially those based in the Neotropics, but also will prove useful to wildlife biologists, conservationists, amateur ornithologists with strong interests in avian natural history, and biology teachers and students. Neotropical Birds Online is available free of charge. The scope of Neotropical Birds Online is all bird species that regularly occur in the Neotropics, from Mexico and the Caribbean south to southernmost South America. The emphasis is on species that breed within this region, but the eventual goal is to provide accounts for all species that regularly occur within this region.Each account on Neotropical Birds Online is an online publication.
  • Thames and Chiltern Bird Atlas: a new internet based bird atlas covering the counties of Bedfordshire, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Hertfordshire and Oxfordshire. For the first time it is possible to view in one place the breeding and wintering distributions and abundance for all bird species at the tetrad scale for a large tract of southern England as well as the changes since the 1980s, and for Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire, since the late 1960s. The area covered comprises 9276 sq km of inland southern England. From north to south it encompasses part of the southern Cotswolds, the vales of White Horse and Aylesbury, the chalk hills of the Chilterns and Berkshire Downs and valleys of the Thames and some of its southern tributaries. It includes substantial urban areas, such as Reading, Oxford, Luton and Milton Keynes; the outer metropolitan suburbs and a variety of habitat types. It is an area which has seen substantial changes in the 20th Century, in both rural and urban areas and these changes continue.
  • xeno-cantowebsite dedicated to sharing sound recordings of wild birds from across the world. XC aims to set up a collection of all bird sounds, representing
    • all taxa (rather than all species),
    • their complete repertoire,
    • all of the geographic variability,
    • at all stages of development.

Relevant Guides

Guide: Remote Access

There are two methods of accessing subscription resources off campus:

  1. Single Sign On. Sign on to SOLOOxLIP+ or your University email and your browser retains the sign on. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus. For a guide to Single Sign On click here.
  2. VPN (Virtual Private Network). Register with OUCS to log on to the network via VPN. Once logged on you can access all e-resources as if you were on campus.

For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.

Need Help?

For ornithology subject enquiries please contact Sophie Wilcox:

sophie.wilcox@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

For other subject enquiries please check our Subjects page.

General information about Oxford University science libraries is available here.