Skip to main content

Commonwealth Studies: Getting started

Search Oxford Libraries Online (SOLO)

External readers

If you are not a member of the University you will need to apply for a reader's ticket from the Bodleian Libraries Admissions office.

LibGuide to Commonwealth Studies

This 'Getting Started' page gives you links to key resources and information for Commonwealth Studies. The tabs above lead to more in-depth information about different types of resources including archives, books, journals, theses, film, news sources, and official papers.

The reading room in Rhodes House Library (Commonwealth and African collections) closed on Friday 12 September 2014. The services for the Commonwealth and African collections, together with those for Oriental manuscripts, are now available in The Charles Wendell David Reading Room in the Weston Library (formerly the New Bodleian Library)

The main Oxford libraries for Commonwealth Studies are the Weston Library, the Bodleian Social Science Library, the Indian Institute collections (currently in the Bodleian Oriental Institute Library,  the Bodleian Law Library and the History Faculty Library.

The links on the right-hand side provide library and contact information for Lucy McCann, Archivist for the Commonwealth collections at the Weston Library.  You may also contact Sarah Rhodes, African and Commonwealth Subject Consultant, for subject enquiries.

How to find things

Search SOLO, Oxford Libraries' catalogue, to find books, documents and journal titles.

Use OxLIP+ to search bibliographic databases/online resources and individual e-journals.

Remote access

Ways to access subscription resources off campus:

  1. Single Sign-On (SSO). Sign on to SOLO, OxLIP+ or your University email and your browser retains the sign on. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus. 
  2. VPN (Virtual Private Network). Register with OUCS to log on to the network via VPN. Once logged on you can access all e-resources as if you were on campus.

For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.

Senior Archivist

Lucy McCann's picture
Lucy McCann
Contact:
Bodleian Library
Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford
OX1 3BG
+44 (0)1865 2-70911
Website / Blog Page

Subject Consultant

Sarah Rhodes's picture
Sarah Rhodes
Contact:
Bodleian Social Science Library,
University of Oxford, Manor Road Building,
Oxford,
OX1 3UQ
+44(0)1865 2-85998

Collection Policy

The Collection Policy for Commonwealth Studies in the Bodleian Libraries is available below: