Skip to main content

Geography and the Environment: Theses

Guide to the latest and most useful research resources for geography and the environment

Key Resources

Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Global

A collection of works from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along wtih some works written prior to 1997.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
UK and Ireland

The collection offers the most comprehensive available listing of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

An international organization supporting electronic publishing and open access to scholarship.

THE BRITISH LIBRARY

The EThoS service from the British Library contains information about UK theses, with increasing availability of full-text downloads (if a library or an individual has paid for digitization).

ORA (Oxford Research Archive) contains a growing collection of digital copies of successful Oxford theses submitted as part of research degree awards. The full content of as many theses as possible are made freely available to be accessed via the Internet.

Guide: Finding Oxford Theses

You can search for Oxford DPhil theses on SOLO. Simply search for "thesis oxford geography" plus any keywords if you are interested in a particular subject.

Science DPhil theses can be requested (using OLIS Automated Stack Request) for consultation in the Radcliffe Science Library.  Social Science and Humanities DPhil theses should be requested to the Duke Humphries Library for consultation. 

The Radcliffe Science Library holds a collection of prize winning dissertations from undergraduate and masters degrees on Level 2.  These are not yet catalogued on OLIS, so please consult the printed handlist.