Skip to main content

Forestry: Theses

Subjects: Forestry

Search SOLO

Proquest Dissertations and Theses

With more than 2.4 million entries, the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world.  Over 930,000 dissertations and theses are available in PDF format (payment required), and most include free twenty-four page previews.

 

Thesis Lists

Theses & Dissertations

Doctoral dissertations and master's theses form a key research resource.

Searchable abstracts of theses from around the world are available via Proquest's Dissertations and Theses and the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

The Index to Theses provides information on theses from Great Britain and Northern Ireland universities as far back as 1716. 

The EThoS service from the British Library also contains information about UK theses and there is increasing availability of full-text downloads, which are available once a library or individual has paid for digitization.  (At this time Oxford theses are not available electronically via EThos but some can be found on ORA).

Forestry Theses

Forestry theses connected to the Oxford Forestry Institute are located on Level 2 of the RSL.

There are two sequences:

Special subject (SS) - filed A-Z by author

These are extended essays which were part of the undergraduate / diploma course before the MSc in Forestry. A list of these theses is available for download from the box on the left.

MSc theses (MSc in Forestry) - filed A-Z by author

A component part of the MSc in Forestry and its Relation to Land Use. The MSc theses succeeded the Special Subject theses. A list of Plant Sciences DPhil and Forestry MSc thesis is available for download from the box on the left.

Availability on SOLO

All the MSc theses and a few of the Special Subject theses are on OLIS. There is a handlist to all the Special Subject theses that may be consulted. 

Finding Oxford Theses

SOLO allows you to search for Theses in the Oxford collections very easily.

1. Navigate to the SOLO homepage.

2. Type details of the Thesis you would like to search for into the main search box.

3. Under the search box is a series of drop-down menus marked 'Refine your search'. In the first box select the the 'Theses' option.

4. Now press the 'Search' button to run your search.

Some theses from the Departments of Plant Sciences and Zoology are located on Level 2 at the RSL.  Please ask staff at the desk for their exact location. All theses are for reference only.

ORA

  Oxford University   Research Archive   (ORA) contains   research publications and other research output produced by members of the University of Oxford. Content includes copies of journal articles, conference papers and theses.

Other Useful Guides