Skip to main content

Russian and East European Area Studies (REES): Articles & Papers

Guide to library provision for Slavonic, Russian, Central and East European history and social sciences

Key Titles

Communist and Post-Communist Studies

Eastern European Politics and Societies: EEPS

Economic and Business Review for Central and South-Eastern Europe

Economic Systems

Economics of Transition

Europe-Asia Studies

Journal of Communist Studies and Transition Politics

Osteuropa

Osteuropa Wirtschaft

Post-Soviet Affairs

Problems of Post-Communism

Russian Social Science Review

Journal Articles

You can search for journal articles in Google Scholar and use the "Find it @ Oxford" link to access electronic versions. Scholar is the largest database of scholarly literature and gives you quick, relevant results but it lacks search tools and gives too many results sometimes.

For more structured literature searching you might try World Wide Political Science Abstracts which has been the standard in political science bibliography for many years, or Web of Science which uses citations for relevance and article ranking.

JSTOR contains the full-text of many of the classic international politics journals back to their earliest issues.

The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) also indexes political science content and includes more non-English language material than the other databases.

If you want to be alerted about new journal issues and tables of contents then sign up for the Zetoc service (see quick guide on this page).

      Find more databases for political science research on OXLIP+

      Journal Search

      Guide: Google Scholar

      Here are some tips to get the best out of Google Scholar:

      • Use as many relevant keywords as possible when searching.
      • If you have a phrase "put it in quotation marks"
      • Use a minus sign before a word to exclude it from the search.
      • On campus you will have links to 'Find it at Oxford', off campus you can activate these by searching for Oxford on the Library Links option in Scholar Preferences.
      • If you use Endnote or Refworks you can set these as your bibliographic manager preference in Scholar Preferences.

      Guide: Citation Searching

      Citation searching (finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication) can be done on Web of Science (Social Sciences Citation Index) or for articles published after 1996 on SCOPUS.

      Google Scholar also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.

      To find articles and books cited within books try searching Google Books with the reference in quotation marks.

      Guide: Zetoc

      ZETOC logo
      Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings. Zetoc database covers 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis.
      You can
      • Search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings,
      • Set up, modify and delete email Alert,
      • Set up RSS feeds for journals.

        You may search the Zetoc database either directly ('On Campus' only) or by entering your Oxford Single Sign-on

            To use Zetoc Alert and RSS feed you must use your Oxford Single Sign-on