During the course of July - September 2017, most of the collections on Level 2 will be shifting to a new location on that floor.
Every item will remain available for readers throughout the period - nothing is being moved off site - but as the work progresses things will not be where you are used to finding them, or where the Floor Plans indicate. Please ask a member of staff to point you in the new direction!
The move does also mean that readers may prefer to use desks on Levels 0, 1, & 3. These can be reached either by lift or by stairs.
The Bodleian Law Library is in the St Cross Building, Manor Rd, Oxford OX1 3UR
View of the main Reading Room, which is immediately inside the entrance, from the Gallery or Floor 3. There are always members of staff available to help you find your way around the open-shelf collection, which is over four floors.
When the Law Library opened in 1964 it was among the first pieces of "modern" architecture to be built in post WW2 Oxford.
More about our architecture on our anniversary website.
1 & 3 KT Bruce
2 Jerry Phillips
about a 10 minute walk from the central Bodleian area - made up of (Old Bod), the Radcliffe Camera, and the Weston Library (formerly the New Bodleian).
Welcome to Alumni & Visiting Researchers
The central Bodleian Admissions Office is in the Weston Library. Alumni & visiting researchers should complete the formalities required to get a Bodleian Reader's Card in the Weston Library, before coming on to the Law Library. The Law Library does not issue Bodleian Reader's Cards.
The Law Bod subscribes to a wide range of electronic legal databases which can be used by all current full OU members with an Oxford Single Sign-On username and password (Oxford SSO). Consequently, Oxford SSO holders have access a considerable library of legislation, law reports, law journals and e-books - from many jurisdictions & across most legal subjects - wherever they have access to the internet.
Unfortunately, for licensing reasons, most legal databases require an Oxford SSO, so are not available to holders of a Bodleian Reader's Card and related Bodleian Library Password.
Below are the links to the major subscription databases for the study of English law available with an Oxford SSO. (Both Lexis@Library & Westlaw UK also have large collections of foreign & international materials too!)
To discover the full range of subscription databases available to holders of an Oxford SSO, together with some reliable, freely accessible online resources, please explore the Law Bod's collection of online Libguides via one or more of the links below:
we do not lend; no one may borrow!
The vast majority of our collection is immediately available on open shelves. Please do ask a member of staff for more specific directions around the collection once you are in the library, it is arranged over 4 floors.
What titles do we have?
Our collection is catalogued on SOLO: you could search in advance of a visit, making note of the call numbers (shelf marks) of the items you would like to read. The floor plan (above) may mean you can find them for yourself - but please don't hesitate to ask a librarian, we are happy to show you the way.
Law Library: Reserve Collection
When you search SOLO for texts you may find - especially if the text is recommended on an undergrad reading list - that the location is shown as "Law Library Reserve Collection." Armed with your University Card/Reader's Ticket and desk number, please ask for these books from the Enquiry Desk.
The guide below should help you make efficient use of SOLO - but please do feel free to ask for further help/clarification when you are in the Library.
Postgraduate legal research
There are two Oxford Colleges prepared to extend their support of postgraduate research in law to members of colleges other than their own. If your SOLO search shows that the only copy in Oxford is either in the Codrington Library (All Souls' College) or Nuffield College Library contact the relevant Librarian in advance, explaining the situation and asking if you could have admittance. Whether or not they allow this is at their and their Colleges' discretion.